Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: IE7 ?? (IE6)

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    IE7 ?? (IE6)

    Hi
    Just a little conundrum you might like to mess with.

    I installed IE7 and wan't happy so I uninstalled it, and it reverted back to IE6, but here's the rub. when I go into Who's Online it shows me as still using IE7.
    So that tells us that the reversion does not do all you would expect it to do. <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>


    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    So what were you not happy with Braddy?
    Regards,
    Rudi

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    You are showing as using IE6 now in your profile. I don't think the info gets updated immediately - i.e. your choice of browser is not calculated as you view Who's Online.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    Hi Rudi

    The main thing for me was I couldn't load the BBC Radio Player, I tried all the work arounds but to no avail.

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    HI Leif

    It shows a IE7 on my machine.

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    You are right - it does! You weren't online when I checked you before, so that was from your profile.

    Can you go to your controls, click on the Edit your Personal Info... icon, click Submit without making any changes, and check again?

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    Hi Leif

    I did what you asked, but is still the same.

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    OK - your profile nows says IE7, so it looks as though something somewhere is announcing you have remained upgraded...

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    HI Leif

    It's not a problem I may upgrade someday anyway.

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    Braddy,
    Not all websites are updated to accept IE 7 and still look for an IE 6 brand. If you have IE 7 installed you can make a reg modification to fool the site into thinking you still have IE 6 installed.

    Check it out HERE
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    I wonder why? One of the first things I did after installing IE7 was to "listen again" to a BBC programme using the radio player, and it worked just fine.

    Ian

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    HI Ian

    I have installed IE7 about 3 times now, and loaded the workarounds like uasutility-v2-x86.msi

    But it still won't work for me??

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    Hopefully someone will be able to come up with an answer then. My experience at least shows that it can work. I'm sorry not to be full of further answers.

    Ian

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    When I go to http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/ and click on a link to listen to the radio I get a pop up pane asking which player to use, WMP or Real Player, which did you select?

    You might delete ALL BBC cookies and internet temp files to see if you can reselect the default player.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Northampton, Northamptonshire, England
    Posts
    1,951
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE7 ?? (IE6)

    HI Dave

    I tried this before and I get nowhere. all I get is the message as if i am trying to close it instead of opening it. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

    see attached

    Regards

    Braddy
    If you are a fool at forty, you will always be a fool

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •