Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Firefox)

    Hello, I've been having a problem with clicking on links. I can click, obviously, but there is no reaction. One site which is a calendar full of links to events, when I click on the link nothing happens. Also when using Yahoo Map I can't click to zoom in (sometimes it works). I do get the hand but when I click it won't zoom in. I did try to refresh the window and click again but no luck. Why is it that on most sites I don't have a problem accessing a link but not on others? I work on a laptop, Win XP. I'd appreciate your help. Thank you, Tira

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    It's interesting that you list both IE and Fx in your "version." Since this is the IE board, let's focus on IE. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    A lot of links actually are wired to run script when you click them. There are two ways to do this (href="java script:doSomething();" or onclick="doSomething();") but in both cases if scripting is disabled then the links might be inoperable.

    One thing to check is whether those sites -- which presumably are in the Internet (security) zone -- are allowed to execute scripts. This depends on the security level and/or your customizations made under Tools>Internet Options...>Security.

    If you have the identical problem in Firefox, there could be some other software, e.g., firewall or filtering package, that is breaking the links. Can you think of any recent software changes involving security tools?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    Thanks for your answer and sorry for putting IE and Firefox in the version. I'm not sure if there is something for Firefox in general and thought it might help mentioning that it is happening, non working links, in 2 different browsers. I am aware about the JavaScript (not that I know how they work) I just wonder why would it normally work when I click on a link on any page, yet, on certain pages it doesn't? My assumption would be that some links aren't necessarily JavaScript. Is that correct?? Trying my luck on that specific online calendar, when I point I see in the lower left corner of the status bar: JavaScript(openpost) and a number after openpost. So that is obviously Java. When I'm i.e. on Yahoo Maps that doesn't seem to be JS and sometimes it works and will let me zoom in on the map yet other times it doesn't.

    Checking my internet settings there are several options for JS and there is "Internet" site and "trusted" site. Java persmission is set to High, scripting IE browser is disabled as well as scripting initiate window yet scripting of Java applets is enabled. That is on the "Internet" side, the "Trusted" side has actually permission to low and the two scripting options are enabled as well as JavaScript. Does that make any sense to you? It doesn't to me, hence, I don't really know what the difference is.

    As to your questoin about changes to security tools, no I have not installed nor changed anything lately. Thanks again, Tira

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    One could write a long article on this, but I will try to be "to the point."

    IE has a concept of different zones, in other words, page locations. Your Intranet zone is your local network. This is mostly relevant to companies. Your Trusted zone consists of sites you added to your Trusted Sites list. If you highlight Trusted, the Trusted Sites list button will become active. Generally speaking, sites in the zone are allowed to push more stuff onto your computer, so you need to be careful about what you add here. Conversely, the Restricted Zone consists of sites you want to have the least access to your computer.

    This leaves the "My Computer" zone, which is hidden, and the rest of the Internet.

    I have customized my Internet zone settings, so I don't know what it looks like "out of the box." However, you need to decide whether you want to enable JavaScript, which Microsoft categorizes under "Active Scripting." This is how mine are set up for the Internet zone (see attachment). If you visit a lot of suspicious web sites, you might not want this. Also, I have blocked numerous third party advertising sites by adding them to my Restricted Sites list, so I don't get most script-generated ads.

    But can you try it temporarily for testing and see whether it fixes those two sites?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    Again thanks. I did change the setup, the only one I actually had to change was to "prompt" for one of the options, yet it still isn't working. That one calendar just doesn't want to cooperate..... this is the link which I have sent to a couple of friends and it works fine for them. http://babwnews.com/calendar.php?id=121&page=events

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    Calendar events open in a pop-up window. Do you have the pop-up blocker set to Maximum Strength? Usually, a yellow bar appears when a pop-up is blocked, but this can be turned off. In that case, it is very difficult to determine whether IE is blocking the pop-up, or something else.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    I have actually disabled the pop up blocker for that site and yet, not working. Looking at the Java script console I see all kinds of errors but of course I don't know what they mean (in Firefox) and on IE is a Java Console which is a bit different.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    IE doesn't have a window that collects script errors, but you can have it pop up a description of each script error individually. (This is no fun unless you have the ability to fix those errors...)

    Is it possible that you have an add-in browser toolbar or another security application that is blocking the pop-ups?

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    The Java Script Console is actually available in Firefox. Sorry for not mentioning. I am using the Goggle toolbar and I didn't think that would cause the problem but then what do I know..... This is sooo frustrating.. <img src=/S/bwaaah.gif border=0 alt=bwaaah width=123 height=15>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    We will get through this. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Did you try changing the Google toolbar settings? The version for IE does have pop-up blocking (info: Google Toolbar Help) but the version for Firefox apparently does not. I haven't tried either one myself.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    I have enabled pop ups for that specific site on the Google toolbar. Is there another pop-up blocker like in IE???????????????????

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    Both IE6 and Fx have built-in pop-up blockers.

    Google toolbar only appears to block pop-ups for IE, not for Fx.

    Other software also might filter pop-ups, but I'm not familiar with them (other than by name or reading about them in the Lounge over the years).

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    Well, after calling Sony (laptop is from them) we figured out that Norton seems to be the problem because as I disabled Norton I could actually access the links in IE and Fx. Now I'm waiting to hear from Norton as, apparently, they've sent me an email with the "fix".

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Oakland, CA, USA
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links in browser not working (IE 6 SP2 and Fir

    Ok, here is the solution, almost embarrasing admitting how easy it was but hey, if one doesn't know....All that needs to be done is, in IE, click on the Icon on the Toolbar for Norton Internet Security. In the drop down window deselect "Block ads on this site" and "Block pop-ups on this site". You will have to be on the website for which you want to have access to these items and it will effect only that particular website. Changing the settings in IE will actually also take effect in Firefox. <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31> <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35> Thank you SO much for all the help and for sticking with me on that!! Tira

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •