Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, Az USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    stand by hibernate problem

    I have had this computer for only four weeks. I have it set to go into stand by after 30 min, and to hibernate after one hour. Everything worked fine until about a week ago, now when it goes into stand by it will wake right back up within 30 sec or so. Sometimes it will take 30 or 40 min to come back on but it always does . It now will stay on 24/7 going in and out of stand by. I even manually put it in hibernate and it still wakes up within 30min. I have Qwest DSL, if I disconnect the phone line from the computer it does NOT wake up. If I then reconnect the phone line hours later it will wake again. There must be some kind of program that has found its way into my computer causing this to happen, but I cannot find it. I have run a Norton complete system scan with no problem found.
    Any ideas? This is driving me crazy

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: stand by hibernate problem

    Maybe in the BIOS the option "Wake On LAN" is enabled. If so, disable it.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: stand by hibernate problem

    Have a look in Computer Management -> Device Manager -> Network Adapters. Right-click on the adapter's name and select Properties, then the Power Management tab. Remove the tick from in front of the message "Allow this device to bring the computer out of standby" (assuming it's there!).

    It's possible that there might necessarily be other devices which could bring the PC out of standby, like the keyboard and mouse, but unless the cat leaps all over your PC table you should be OK with these.

    John

    PS You may find that you have to give up on the XP Power Options for desktop PCs, for they have been described (by me!) as "a shambles". See, for example, <!mskb=318355>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 318355<!/mskb>...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, Az USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: stand by hibernate problem

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> Hey thanks, I think that fixed it. Now I can get some sleep !

    gmnaz

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, Az USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: stand by hibernate problem

    I am still learning my way around this computer, could you please tell me where to find "BIOS" ?
    Thank You,
    gmnaz

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: stand by hibernate problem

    You normally access the BIOS on startup. A few seconds after powering up your PC, there should be a message saying "Press F2 to enter setup", although the key varies from manufacturer to manufacturer. You then enter several screens where you can change things such as the boot drive. Only go there if you know what you are doing!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •