Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    I'm getting a series of errors when trying to copy/paste reports. Here's the background: The file was initially created in Access97, then converted to Access 2002 when a user unknowingly updated it. No big problems there. Now, I have just been issued Access 2003 (yet my users are still on 2002). Anyway, on this one report (I have successfully copied others), I get this series of errors <attached>
    Note: I don't always get all of them, but I will get at least one of them....oh, that that name rpt_NAmers was just something I made up because I got tired of typing long report names only to recieve an error. there is no such existing object, module, procedure or whatever.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)


  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Right after I posted this, I searched a little deeper and I found all the references to compact/Repair as well as the link to the JET repair tool.
    Unfortunately, when I try to implement the repair, I get the macro warning (which I can't seem to turn off).
    I even tried importing the report into another existing database but got this error : <attached>
    However...when I try to import it into a new database, I get the ole 'name conflicts with existing blah blah' error.

    I can't rename this or change it and 'save as'...this object appears to be dead in the water.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Can you open the database?
    If so, activate the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F11).
    Select Tools | References...
    Do you see any references starting with MISSING?

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    NOthing appears to be missing <screen shot>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Have you looked at the MSKB article I mentioned?

    Do the reports contain non-native controls (i.e. controls that are not listed in the default Control Toolbox)?

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Yes, I checked it out...and I even downloaded the latest recommended Jet SP. When I tried to install, it claimed that my version was newer. That wasn't too surprising. I have a feeling that this is due to the fact it was created in 97, updated by a user in 2002 and then finally altered by me in 2003, without resolving the initial errors. When my user opens it, she get's a different error.. bottomline: All I want is the report, so I can save it as another report and move on. Oddly enough the report runs just fine.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    If you wish, you can post a stripped down copy of your database. See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Attached is the stripped-down database per your instructions

    The report is based on a parameter query. Just feed it 9/1/06 and 10/30/06

    There are two things wrong with this database:
    1- I can't copy this particular report or rename it
    2- It won't compact and repair without raising the macro screen...but that could be a local config issue.

    Thanks for the help.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Does the report in the attached zipped database work better?

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Yes, I can at least copy and paste another instance...so thats fixed.
    I still can not compact and repair. Does that work on your system?
    Also, it fails on importing objects from another database.
    If you can do both of those, I know that it's a local config issue.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    I removed the code module from the report (since there wasn't any code anyway) and removed unused references in the Visual Basic Editor. I did this in Access 2002.
    I won't be able to test in Access 2003 until Wednesday; perhaps someone else can test before that.

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    OK...I found out what you did and it worked for me as well. I've already repopulated the revised mdb file with the necessary elements, save one exception: The switchboard. Are there any ways to convert on import a previous version's switchboard? I can always import the Switcboard Items table, (and even the form itself) but the switchboard fails on open. I have a feeling it is the Office 10 object library, which is nowhere to be found in the references. It's really funny vbecause it stumbles on compile in the FillOptions() procedure with an "User-defined object not defined" error msgbox. The line that trips it up:
    Dim dbs as database <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    Try setting a reference (in Tools | References) to the Microsoft DAO 3.6 Object Library.

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    401
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error copying reports (Access 2003)

    BINGO! Thanks a million for all your help. This was actually a blessing in disguise as I was trying to figure out a way to glean the useful elements from the flotsom (unused queries and tables) that had collected over time. The documenter was a decent place to start, but this little salvage operation was better than I'd hoped. You saved me hours of <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •