Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Install cab files

    I need to know how to install i386 files. I know they are on the Installation CD.There are a few folders, the first one is: C:Windowssystem32ReinstallBackups0000Driver Files.
    Also, may I remove the reinstall backup folders, most of the folders are empty.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Gloria,
    The I386 files are the bulk of the WIndows operation system files. The installation of same occurs when you install the OS. If you needed a particular file from one of the cab files, you could use the "extract" command to get it bit you would have to know the exact file it was in. Not too practical.

    Just what reinstall back up folders are you talking about?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    To install compressed files from i386 folder on Windows Installation CD, you can use applications included on the CD (Setup.exe, winnt.exe) with corresponding answer files.

    To reinstall damaged files from Windows XP Installation CD, use System File Check application (Start | Run, type SFC /SCANNOW and hit Enter).

    To extract individual files from the cabinet, use EXTRACT command (type EXTRACT /? from Command Prompt for more information).

    Answer to your second question: of course, you can delete empty backup folders; but if available empty space on your hard drive is not critically low (most modern hard drives have plenty of space), just let them alone and forget about them.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    I haven't the slightest idea what they are, all I know is what I said before, the name appears as the path to the empty i386 folders.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Perhaps I haven't made myself clear as to what I would like to do. I want to install the i386 files on my hard drive so that while using tools like SFC and it asks for the location of a certain file I can enter i386. I want the Windows setup files on my C: drive. They were there some time ago, now they've disappeared.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    What I think you are trying to ask, is "How does one COPY the I386 folder and files to ones hard drive"?

    The folder can be copied from the Windows CD to ones hard drive. It should copied as such "C:WINDOWSI386".

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Correct, I stand corrected. If I put in the CD won't Windows XP start to load? How do you get just the i386 files without starting the reinstall? I think I should know how to do that, but never having done it, I have to ask how it's done.

    Thanks for helping me Dave, I really appreciate it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    When the installation begins, just cancel it. Then from either "My Computer" or "Windows Explorer", right-click on the drive you have the CD in and choose "Explore", you can then simply drag & drop the i386 file over to "C:WINDOWS" as Dave recommended. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    No, Windows XP will not start to load as you put in the XP CD. It will only autorun the setup program, you can of course select from within there to browse the CD or quit the program.

    If you don't want it to run the autorun stuff, then hold down shift as you put in the CD.

    I have not seen any need to do what you are trying to, but anyhow when the CD is inserted use Windows Explorer to browse to the i386 folder, copy whatever you like.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Gloria,
    Now I can see what you are trying to do.
    So far as SFC scannow is concerned, there is a step by step procedure on how to copy the I386 files to your HD and ALSO how to make your system recognize that those files are now on your HD and not on a CD. This eliminates the constant nag to please insert your CD while it looks for a file, then repeats the same thing again and again.

    On about a third of the way down the page will be the start of the instructions. Go to: SCANNOW
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Great! I will remove all of the i386 files on my computer I have now and start fresh.

    Appreciate the information Jeff.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Have you ever run System File Checker (SFC) or re-installed Windows? If you've done either of those things you would understand why? See Bob's post then you will understand better why I want those files on my hard drive.

    Thank you for your reply.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Oh boy, such good information coming from all over this board. Am I fortunate to have discovered Woody's Lounge and all you wonderful people.
    Bob, I followed your link and printed the information. I will follow it's instructions. When I put all the advice together, I will have completed my request and have i386 on my hard drive.

    Thank you, one and all. I love you guys, if I wasn't married, I'd ask one of you to put a ring on my finger (joking of course).

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Gawsh, Ma'am, you make me <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Install cab files

    Well thank you, you're welcome.

    The small part in my reply to you, mentioning that I have not seen any need for i386 content copied to HDD, was just that; an observation from my horizon.

    I have indeed used the System File Checker, and have re-installed Windows. See for instance my little trouble when I was asked for a CD that didn't exist (and for that matter a Windows version that don't exist) Old post: <!post=sfc /scannow asks for a CD that I don't have, 366491>sfc /scannow asks for a CD that I don't have<!/post>.

    But during several years of use, I have seen very little need to invoke those tools/setup programs, and when needed, then the Windows CD is next to my machine.

    If some critical file gets corrupted and I want to use System File Checker to check and replace that file, I would like SFC to get a clean, non-corrupted copy so I don't replace a corrupted file with another one. That is why it is good to use a CD. See for example #3 at the page Bob linked to in his reply to you.

    A different matter is when using a laptop and travelling a lot. For a laptop, in such case, it can be good to have both Windows files and Office files copied to the HDD (especially when thinking on the Office option "Install at first run"). It isn't that fun to sit on airport far from home and no CD's.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •