Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ad-aware SE Pro

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Ad-aware SE Pro

    Recently running the program I get a message that states: Your definitions file has been compromised. Please delete your definitions file and restart Ad-aware. The it supplies the location of the def.ref file.

    I delete the file and run Ad-aware. The next time I run it, the same message appears. What could be compromising the definitions file?
    I also have installed and run, but not at the same time a program names Avast! AntiVirus.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware SE Pro

    I use the free version of AdAware and I also use the Avast program. As far as I have ever seen, there's no conflict between the two.

    Are you sure that the message is giving you the location of the definitions file, or might it be a duplicate, as is sometimes found with Windows? I'd like to know the path it gives you to the definitions file, just for the heck of it.

    Probably the least time consuming thing from your standpoint would be to un-install AdAware and then re-install it.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware SE Pro

    The location supplied by Ad-aware is as follows:

    C:Program FilesLavasoftAd-AwareSEProfessionaldefs.ref

    It's not a duplicate because it was the only one found. If it happens one more time I will do as you suggest and reinstall it.
    The new definition files it installed is SE1R129 26.10.06, it ran with no problems.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware SE Pro

    Aha, I thought you were unable to run. That's the latest definitions file. If it ran OK I guess you're alright.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware SE Pro

    Good Morning Al, I seem to have not made myself clear. Yes, I was able to run it and new definitions loaded. My problem is that after getting the newest one, when I run it again the same message may appear. I will run it this morning and post back if the compromise message appears again. This is what has happened for the last week or so.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware SE Pro

    Gloria,
    Take Al's advice and uninstall, then reinstall the program. It's no big deal. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware SE Pro

    I have discovered by going to the forum for Ad-Aware, that what I received was a false warning generated by the authenticity checker which is in beta. Lavasoft is aware of this issue and I presume they are working on a fix.

    Therefore reinstalling would not solve the problem. I will continue using Ad-aware, if I can, and ignore the message.

    Thanks Viking and Al for your attempts to help me.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •