Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Internet Connect Through VMware

    I installed Linux SUSE 10 in the VMware VM. It install fine seemingly, but I'm not able to connect to the net.

    I'm on a wireless connection (home network), via a MN730 wireless card/MN700 router.

    I *thought* I had all installed... the SUSE part seemed error-free, but any connect to the net is just sitting there. Obviously my hardware's alright, 'cause I here, but the Linus guest can't see anything...

    I got the pass phrase entered, I altered the hardware (I think correctly) since it didn't see the wireless card at first...

    ???

    Anybody know what I've missed?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Hi Chuck

    Does the virtual machine have a different mac address and do you have secondary security for preferred IP access to the router?

    Can you connect to the router with a CAT5 cable? If so, have you connected that way?
    Jerry

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Jerry:

    I dunno, and no, but 4am tends to make me impetuous, and so now I have to apologize, 'cause I deleted everything, started all over, and this time it seemed to work.

    So it must've just been something that "copied" wrong...

    Now all Im trying to finish is getting the flippin' icons smaller (setting the resolution to 1024x768 didn't seem to change anything), and finding out how to swap between KDE and Gnome so I can see the diff... without having to re-install hopefully. I installed the parts for both in hope....

    Kinda like a cross between a kid in a candy tore, and a bull in a china shop.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Excellent, sounds like it is going well(ish) <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Jerry:

    But is there (as far as you know) any way to switch between KDE and Gnome?

    BTW, the Novell / Microsoft agreement ought to make it all **real*8 interesting!

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Hi Chuck,

    If you've installed both Gnome and KDE in this installation, you'll find the option available from the login screen. Not having used SUSE for a while now, I'm not certain on the login screen's options, but you'll be looking for an option about 'SESSION' or 'GUI' or something similar.
    Christopher Baldrey

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Chris:

    When SUSE starts up, I only see:

    SUSE Linux
    Floppy
    SUSE (Fail Safe)
    Floppy Drive A

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    When you choose the boot option for 'Suse Linux', does it present a login screen?
    Christopher Baldrey

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Chris:

    I'm sorry... I, out of total frustration, set up a whole new VM this morning ... and it works OK -- to the internet. I think in the first install I must have selected something wrong that caused a file to be left out... but it connects to the internet now.

    Now it's my (****) printer - a USB Canon S330 -- that SUSE doesn't see at all. It sees my USB, but not the printer. And the printer works in Windows, so, I dunno...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    My only suggestion to the printing issue is to check out http://www.linuxprinting.org.
    Christopher Baldrey

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Chris:

    I'll be sure to check that out... thanks...

    Question:

    Last night I installed the SUSE 10 directly on my hard drive. All went well, I think.

    But I can't connect to the internet.

    Now, normally, I'm using a Microsoft MN730 wireless adapter, connecting to the host (my home network). VMware shows this as "Ethernet bridged."

    Shouldn't I still be able to connect to the net through SUSE?

    What do I need to do that I haven't?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Wifi is funny in Linux, depending on the adapter you have. A Google Linux Search for your wireless card on Suse (I didn't specify which version) returns a bunch of suggestions. The first presented link, is from the same http://www.linuxquestions.org website I pointed out to you the other day.
    Christopher Baldrey

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Internet Connect Through VMware

    Chris:

    Thanks. maybe this will get more cuddly now that Microsoft and Novell are roommates...

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •