Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Linksys allow rules

    I can't seem to get the access restriction rules to work right. Linksys has basiclly been no help. They keep thinking that it's a firewall issue. Oh brother.

    Below are just some of the config. settings run:

    #1 Allow setting: all MAC's listed
    Deny setting: 1 MAC listed to be denied at a certain time
    Result: full access
    ___________________________
    #2 Allow setting: one MAC listed
    Deny setting: 1 MAC listed to be denied at a certain time
    Result: no access to MAC to be denied, even though it wasn't the time to be denied yet.
    ___________________________

    Conclusions:
    Computers won't get access unless listed under always allow.
    Computers won't get denied if listed under always allow.

    I have a Linksys Wireless router: WRT54G with the latest firmware. I have powercycled the PC's modem and router several times.
    When I change any above settings in the router they are immediate. Linksys said that I needed to power cycle all PC and router with ANY change. Not true.

    Can anyone give any clues?

    --KZ

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    It just may be a firewall issue, what one are you running on each machine?
    And what OS is one each machine?

    REMEMBER that the Windows XP firewall will BLOCK all network traffic, you need to get a GOOD third party one.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    I have ZoneAlarm running on all machines. How can it be that when as soon as I put in the MAC or IP address in the main "allow all the time rule" that it comes on, then when I remove it, it looses access?

    All machines have XP Pro.
    Windows firewalls are all disabled.

    --KZ

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    I use ZA Pro as well. Are you allowing those into the trusted zone in ZA?
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    When in the "Access Restrictions" set up, do you have "stuse" "Enabled" or "Disabled"?
    Also do you have "Denny" or "Allow" selected?

    See Figure 5-26 on page 28 of the user guide.
    If you do NOT have a user Guide got to Download Page For WTR54GS - Wireless-G Travel Router with SpeedBooster

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    I don't see how it can be a ZA issue as when I change the settings to allow all the time in the router it does get access.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    I have all the computers as all the time using "allow" then another restriction as "deny" with a timeframe.

    One thing that Linksys just wrote was that I need to do it backwords and actually DENY all computers access, then manually ALLOW access during certain times. Hmmm, I haven't tried it that direction yet.

    --KZ

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    That would make sense. If you had a rule to allow unlimited access, then a rule to limit access between certain hours, which rule would have priority?
    If you think of blocking as removing access permission as opposed to actively preventing it, then allowing access at certain or all times is a logical method.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    Well, you would think, but that didn't work either. The deny all rule denied all, even though I put in a rule to ALLOW that MAC during certain hours.

    When I delete ALL the rules, all computers get access. Strange.

    --KZ

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    I know it's a pain, but what about setting up both the allowed time rule, and the not-allowed time rule for all MACs? The box would then have both situations to validate against.
    Christopher Baldrey

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Linksys allow rules

    A google search for site:www.linksysinfo.org allow deny wrt54g turns up a number of interesting threads.

    Try reading this thread on the Linksysinfo forum and see if it makes things any clearer.

    One thing you need to watch is the ORDER of the rules.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •