Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    I have a mature computer, a Dell 8200, which has been upgraded (ME to XP Home, 40 GB to 160 GB (2 drives), all USB ports were 1.1 so I added a USB 2 card with four ports, a 10/100 EtherLink card, and whatever RAM was there is now 512MB). Prices have plummeted and technology has skyrocketed and upgrade is out of the question. I have an even more mature computer, a Dell Inspiron 5000, upgraded from Win98 SE to XP Home, 600 MHz with 2/3 the memory and storage upgraded from 10 to 40 GB, and it can run rings around it with the same software. That has been put out to pasture, chiefly because the battery is dead, but both have been retained because mumble mumble king

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    When you logon as yourself have you used the Task Manager to see what process is consuming your CPU? You also ought to use something like the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>AutoRuns for Windows v8.54 to check out what is being started when you boot.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    Thanks Joe

    Task manager Processes seemed OK, but Performance was at the max.

    Autoruns looks terrific, and it's now on all of my computers new and old.

    Right off the bat, HKLMSystemCurrentControlSetControlSessionManagerBo otExecute had 5 files not found, and scrambled characters and many question marks, which looks suspicious. I have backups, restore points, registry backups, installation CDs and such things, but any suggestions on how to proceed are welcome.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    If your cpu utilization is 100% something must be consuming it. Are you saying there wasn't anything that was using an inordanite amount of CPU? If not, what do you mean by performance was at the max? Can you include a screen shot?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    I have discovered that I have a bad partition, and one of my applications must be trying to access it at boot and is getting nowhere. If I run PartitionMagic from one of the other users I can clearly see that it is displayed as corrupt. Now all I have to do is try to repair it with CHKDSK /R and whatever else I have on hand or can afford.

    'Performance' is one of the four displays in Task Manager, and the CPU Usage History graphic is a dramatic 100%, by which I meant 'the max'. Sorry for the confusion. System Mechanic, if you happen to have it, has an interesting utility called Memory Mechanic, under Optimize, that will allow you to recover RAM that has been lost to processes that failed to restore it. That can often help in normal circumstances if you have limited RAM.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    When your CPU utilitzation is 100% I'd be more interested in the Processes tab and which one or more is using the CPU.

    With XP 'recovery' of RAM is not necessarily a good thing. XP purposely does not unload modules in case they are going to be re-used. If a request comes that requires more RAM than is available the RAM from unused modules are made available. If the modules/programs are re-used the RAM is just 'activated' and does not have to be reloaded from DISK. XP does a much better job of memory management than prior MS OSes.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    I was very interested to read your remarks about RAM, since I hadn't been able to figure out why Microsoft hadn't built it in themselves. I now see that Task Manager itself has a line at the bottom with Processes, CPU Usage, and Commit Charge, which in my case on that computer are respectively 67, 100%, and 405/1252M.

    There is no question that I have a bad sector on the second drive which has to be repaired, but I now think that it has nothing to do with the boot problem. When I tried to boot it to provide you with information, a few minor programs loaded and were shown in the tray, and the splash screen for SpySweeper with Anti-Virus and the icon below it stayed in place for well over half an hour. The drive light peeped on and off occasionally. I was in the process of composing a reply when the desktop computer beeped and reported the following:
    Script Error
    Line 235
    Position 56
    if str > = value then CompareStrings = false else <script language = "VBScript">

    It's Greek to me, and if anyone can help interpret it I would be most grateful.
    The processes list would be excessive for this post, but Spyware Doctor guzzles the most at 60,246, with System Mechanic 6 a distant second at 28,008, and neither is anything I particularly want to load at startup.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    It is probably not the memory usage of the processes that it important at this point but the CPU usage. I cant help with the script error except to say check the SpySweeper forums to see if there is something there.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: User switfch (XP Home SR-2)

    Much progress but still a problem. (I haven't given up, but it's easier to use a different computer for day-to-day work.) The progress was chiefly from restoring my C: drive from a backup that dated from when I was starting to have trouble, then updating and improving the program configuration. I had cured the partition problem before this.

    That means that I don't know what was causing the problem as described, but everything works well now with one exception, and it definitely causes the CPU usage to go to 100%, but seems to consume modest resources on its own, as does everything else. The culprit is Word, and it appears to work normally until I try to shut it down. I'll post details of that problem in the Word forum.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •