Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    Hi,

    I purchased and installed a new VGA card: Radeon 9600 Series. After rebooting, I find that my resolution options and even refresh rate options are exactly the same as before. I cannot get my resolution more than 600x800 at 85Hertz. Surely this should be improved with a better VGA card??? Can I do anything about it?

    TX
    Regards,
    Rudi

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    You don't have a 14" VGA CRT monitor, do you?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    It depends on the monitor you have. What kind is it: a CRT or an LCD? What is the screen diameter?
    Have you installed the correct drivers for the card? If you open the Display Properties control panel, activate the Settings tab and click Advanced, is there a special ATI tab?
    The amount of video RAM on the card also matters, but with an ATI Radeon 9600, that should not be the problem.

    Perhaps AMD Customer Care for ATI Products will help

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    I dunno what CRT is, but I do have a 15" colour monitor that came with the purchase of my PC about 2yrs ago. If that helps??
    Regards,
    Rudi

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    OK, then its CRT (not LCD). Its 15", and I only installed the card. I cannot recall any software that came with it, but YES, there is an ATI tab (ATI Catalyst Control) I see it is docked in my system tray too.

    PS: There is 256MB onboard RAM on the card.
    Regards,
    Rudi

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    Googling would quickly yield the answer. CRT means 'cathode ray tube', i.e. like a television tube. LCD monitors are also referred to as flatscreen.

    15" monitors should be able to display 1024 x 768

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    You should installt the drivers for this card; you can download them from the website I referred to.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    I will give that a go...thanx
    Regards,
    Rudi

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    Rudi, I've bought a LOT of ATI cards over the years and I've never seen one yet that didn't come with a setup disk (earlier floppy, more recent CD). You should look again at what you got for you may have left the driver and utility software CD in the box. Of course, you can go digging on the ATI web for the correct ones...

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    I forgot something in that last post. The last ATI card I bought last year included very specific instructions about how to install the card and those instructions said, in big letters, to UNINSTALL your current video card in device manager, then shut down and remove the old card. There was also some language in that pamphlet about running the ATI uninstaller if there is one. You may NOT have followed the installation procedures correctly and ATI won't fly right if you don't. Check it out... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    Hi BigAl,

    I had a on board VGA whatever?....(I am not technical...so excuse the lack of jargon). I do have a disk, and I did install (sorry for misleading!). Anyways after Hans's post I did go digging on the web and noticed a brand new driver that was released only yesterday. I am downloading now!! I also browsed on the site and noticed quite specific instructions about getting rid of old driver installations before installing the new, so it seems I will have to get home and unistall EVERYTHING that has a hint of VGA driver,... and reinstall the brand new driver I am downloading now. I hope this will sort out the problem.

    TX for the reply!
    Regards,
    Rudi

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    Good luck and let us know how you get on...

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    <center>
    <hr>I had a on board VGA whatever<hr>
    </center>If your video was "onboard" you may have to disable it in your BIOS. Check your manual or the vendors website.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No higher resolution with new VGA card?

    <hr>I had a on board VGA whatever<hr>

    Most likely integrated video?

    I had trouble initially with my Radeon, (such as disabling the old video adapter without installing the new one), but you will notice a great difference once everything is properly installed. The ATI tab is especially helpful when switching from work to play (at least on my monitor, it lets you quickly rotate the screen display with the monitor...quite handy).
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •