Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Upgrade for Vista

    Although what I am running now passed the Vista test, I am planning on upgrading my MB and processor soon getting ready for Vista and Office '07. Here is what I have chosen. An ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe/Wireless Edition Socket AM2 Aud/GbLAN/SATA/RAID/1394, and an AMD Athlon 64X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.2GHz 2x512k Socket AM2. 2GB of DDR2-667 or 800 RAM.
    My hard drive is less than a year old @120GB, so I will keep that and I also plan on getting rid of my CD-ROM in favor of a DVD burner. I all ready have a new DVD ROM. I will also be replacing my sound card to a newer Creative device (maybe) as well as my current AGP video card (Nvdia 5500(128)) with a new PCI Nvidia (256).
    Are these good choices for the MB, processor and video card? I am an AMD fan!
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    I'd venture that your XP installation is going to scream bloody murder with all those hardware upgrades. Have you considered just buying a new box that is Vista ready ??? It would seem simpler and the cost should be comprable to all these upgrades.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Yup I thought about that, but I just hate all that extra junk that is on store bought machines. I know I can wipe it all (well most of it anyway) off, HP is good at working with me on doing that. We (HP & I) did it with me new laptop.
    Total cost is going to be around $800.00 USD.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Here's an HP AMD box for $879 that's Vista ready with a <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> 19' FP upgrade, <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> shipping & <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> printer. I believe you could buy just the box without all the peripherals and save enough to bump the RAM up to 2GB and get the fastest Duo Core Processor they offer to make the system truly Vista compatible. Wipe the HD clean when you get it and do a clean install of Vista (when it comes out) and then add your old HD to the system and have a clean install of XP and a clean install of Vista to set up a dual boot option for.

    Just a thought. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    t8ntlikly,

    I recently built a new system with much the same hardware you listed. What you might want to ask yourself is if you are going to run dual video cards? If not, then you can save yourself some money on the motherboard and consider buying the Asus M2N-E (not SLi).... they are basically identical with the M2N-E not supporting "SLi" (dual video cards). I also have the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ CPU which I have overclocked to 2.5 Ghz and it simply screams. I'll also recommend Mushkin SP PC2-5300 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-667 RAM. It comes with a lifetime warranty and is a great match for the M2N-E board and AMD CPU.

    Here are some other items I'd offer for your consideration:
    - Video Card: EVGA E-GEFORCE 7600 GT KO (lifetime warranty)
    - LG GSA-H10N DVD+RW 16X8X16 DVD-RW 16X6X16 Dual Layer 10X/6X DVD-RAM 12X Writer

    Now.... what you might not realize is that the Asus M2N-E (SLi) boards only come with 1 (2x1) IDE HDD connector, which you are going to use to connect your two removable drives. Your current PATA (IDE) HDD wont' be able to be used, therefore, you are going to be forced to buy a SATA HDD. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    FYI, I built the entire system, including a LG CD-ROM, Floppy drive, a Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB SATA2 7200RPM 16MB 8.9MS Hard Drive and a Antec NSK6500 New Solution ATX Mid Tower Case all for $975 Cdn. I'm dual-booting XP and Vista RC2 and Vista scores my system with a "5.1", which is most excellent, Dude!.

    Have Fun!! <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/crazy2.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    > Your current PATA (IDE) HDD wont' be able to be used

    You're right, of course. But t8ntlikly can buy a USB HDD case for around $25 to put it in and use as an external USB drive. <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Thanks Pilgrim (sounds like something from a John Wayne movie ..LOL) I appreciate the tips. I dont need dual monitors, and I didnt realize that about my PATA HDD either.
    Again thanks Jeff
    Happy Thanksgiving to ALL
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Good idea Jan. I all ready have a Maxtor 100G external back up but adding my old HD via USB is intriguing.
    John
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Jan had a good suggestion and one which I STRONGLY suggest as well. And taking that advice and running a bit with it, let me offer another suggestion. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif> IF <----------- you anticipate down the road that your current IDE hard drive might get filled and thus require you to replace it. Since you might be using the Asus M2N-E board which supports SATA, a good enclosure to consider would be the Thermaltake Silver River Duo enclosure. It comes in different colors too. Why? (I recently purchased one of these for myself) Because you can use either an IDE or SATA drive AND it has a dual connection option for either USB 2.0 or eSATA. Here's how it works. If you install an IDE (PATA) drive in the enclosure, you can use the USB 2.0 connection (cable). However, if you install a SATA drive in the enclosure you can use either USB 2.0 or eSATA. You will need to also purchase an eSata bracket, which costs about $5. But the transfer rate is significant: 480 KB/sec for USB 2.0 vs. 3 Mb/sec for eSata.

    Lastly, on this matter of having an external enclosure, it is probably the cheapest and best backup solution around. Many, including myself, use Acronis True Image as the application of choice for created system backups to an external drive. Think of it as cheap "insurance". <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Edited by HansV to remove superfluous white space from screenshot

    Ok,
    I've toned it down a wee bit. I noticed that this MB does support IDE so I will be able to use my existing HDD. I also configured this with just 1GB of memory, but may jump that to two. XP might go ballistic with all of the changes, but that can be overcome. What do you guys think.
    This is a first time for me doing this so please be gentle and really appreciate your comments so far.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    The only thing I would change would be the Video Card. Vista is very demanding when it comes to graphics. You might want to consider going to something like a GeForce 7600 GS/GT 256 card. But IF you are convinced that the GeForce 7300 is what you want or can afford, then go with EVGA. They are a better company and you can get it cheaper than the PNY brand.

    Here's a comparison review which you may find beneficial: Video Card Comparison

    And seriously consider increasing the RAM to 2 gigs of DDR2 (2 x 1 gig - matched set).

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Edited by HansV. Please stop posting large images (over 640x480) with lots of useless white space.

    Yea, probably should. I put a 128 PNY in my wifes computer and it was somewhat of a problem until I got it sorted out.
    I can get the video card cheaper locally so that will drop this configuration price a bit.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrade for Vista

    Have you gone ahead and built this PC.

    If not i would reconmend looking at Intel core 2 duo processors as they are way ahead of AMD in the bangs for bucks stakes.
    I say this being someone who has alway brought AMD, but if i was buying now thats what i would got for.

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •