Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Screen Ghosts

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Screen Ghosts

    When I click on a favorite in the Favorites menu on my Start Menu a "ghost" of the Favorite remains on the desktop until IE sets the page. Am I short on system resources or is my refresh rate too low ??? Or is it something else all together ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    Something similar occasionally happens on my PC, it doesn't really bother me.
    Have you tried reducing hardware acceleration? (Open the Display Properties control panel, activate the Settings tab, click Advanced, activate the Troubleshoot tab, drag the Hardware acceleration slider one or two notches to the left)

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    No joy. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

    This has been going on for awhile on my system and recently it has been happening everytime I click on any of the Favorites. Just figured I'd see if it could be gotten rid of. Guess I'll be living with it too. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    Does it still happen if you disable "Menu selection fading" in the general section of TweakUI?

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    Yes it does. But disabling Menu Animation and List Box Animation fixed it.

    Thanks for pointing me in the right direction Stuart. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    It appears I spoke too soon.

    I just installed the latest Spysweeper update and when I rebooted, the problem resurfaced. Went back into TweakUI and disabled Menu Fading and Menu Selection Fading and that stopped it (again). I'll reserve final judgement until I reboot again. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

    Edited by Doc to add... The cures are only temporary. No matter what combo of settings changes I tried, the ghosts always return. I'm just gonna put the settings back where they were and live with it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    Strange!

    Did you try Hans' suggestion of reducing hardware acceleration?

    StuartR

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Screen Ghosts

    That was the first thing I tried. Didn't help. Then I tried it in combination with the various changes in TweakUI and, as I said, the fixes that did work were only temporary. I agree that it's a strange problem, but this is not really a big deal, just a minor annoyance I thought I'd take a crack at on a lazy Sunday.

    I'm beginning to believe that my system needs more RAM. I ask it to store a lot of stuff on 4 partitions and the program overhead is heavy. I noticed a major change in available RAM when I upgraded Spysweeper about 6 months ago. The system is getting a little long in the tooth too. It's almost 4 yrs old and is a P4 2.4GHz with 512 MB of PC1066 RDRAM. I would have added more RAM about a year ago, but the RDRAM is EXPENSIVE !!! Over $300 for another 512 MB !!! Guess I'll do a little housecleaning, reassign some of the free space on one of the storage partitions to the OS partition and see if that helps.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •