Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Middletown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to enter an ampresand in a title? (all )

    If I enter &T in a title header it gets expanded into a date. How can I escape the special meaning of the ampersand? I tried the forward and backward slashes and I enclosed the & in quotation marks but none of these did help.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: How to enter an ampresand in a title? (all )

    I assume you are referring to a title in a report. T is used as the system for a date/time field. Thus &T converts to a time.

    If you want to show &T on your title, type in & T (& space T)

    This is the only way I know to do this. If the T follows the & then system will convert the T to a time field.

    HTH
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Middletown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to enter an ampresand in a title? (all )

    Thanks. That is correct I was referring to a title in a report.
    Your solution works but then there is a space between the "&" and the "T".
    Is there a way to enter the ASCII code for "&"?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: How to enter an ampresand in a title? (all )

    Good Question. I do not know a way to add the ASCII code and get it to insert the character as the ASCII code is treated as text in the header. ... not saying it cant be done, I just do not know how.
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: How to enter an ampresand in a title? (all )

    Here is a work around to get this to work.

    In MS Project, open the file and select File, Properties.

    In the Summary tab, select one of the boxes where you can insert data. I selected keywords as most people do not use this. Input T or &T or whatever you want there as it will be treated as text.

    In your report, add the field for Keyword and &T will show as required.

    HTH
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How to enter an ampresand in a title? (all )

    Nice One Gary <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15>

    I tried inserting the ascii & #39; but it did not work <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>, nice work around
    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •