Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Gentlemen, This is to inform you that I, against my better judgement, tried to install SP2, yesterday from Windows Update. Disaster struck almost immediately. I got a blue screen of death that informed me " A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. Driver_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_Equal.Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed. If the problem continues, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use Safe Mode to remove or disable components restart computer, press F8 to select advanced."
    All hardware and software were installed properly and there were no conflicts in Device Manager.

    When I tried to reboot, I could not get into Windows. Did a Windows XP Repair, ran SFC, removed and reinstalled both IE6 and Outlook Express, reinstalled my Intel Graphics Chipset driver, reset monitor settings and restored screen resolutions. That's just part of what I had to do to get my computer back into the shape it was in before I acted the fool and tried to install SP2.

    I expected this to happen and it did (big time).
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Gloria,
    "I expected this to happen and it did (big time)."

    That's exactly why it happened: you expected it.

    Try it again. This time download it and save it, then run it off line. <img src=/S/meltdown.gif border=0 alt=meltdown width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Really? I expected to hit the jackpot at the casino, did it happen? No.
    I expected to hit the lottery, did it happen? No.
    If I was afraid to install SP2 before, how do you think I feel after that experience? Do you have any idea what it took to get back into Windows and reinstall all that was broken? Do it again?( I almost blew my stack with frustration.)
    I don't think so. I just discovered that I can't get into Windows Update ( that seems to be broken too ). I select it and IE just sits there with a wait icon on the screen. I had to use Ctrl>Shift> Esc to get IE to close.IE works with everything else. But that's another topic and not meant to be discussed here.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Did you make an image backup before starting the upgrade?
    If so then I would strongly recommend that you restore it, to get you back to a known stable state before continuing.

    Did you capture any other data from the Driver_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_Equal blue screen? (especially the name of the driver)
    Is there more data about this in your event log?
    It seems likely that this was caused by a device driver that could really do with updating, whether you reinstall SP2 or not.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    I hardly think you can blame a service pack for revealing deeper problems that almost certainly existed before you attempted the installation. But now that the suspense is out of the way, you should consider plowing ahead and working through the issues instead of saying "see, I told you so." You've already made several steps in that direction anyway.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Gloria,
    I think you HOPED to hit the jackpot and HOPED to win the lottery but you EXPECTED to have problems with SP2 and so you did.
    Seriously, there has to be other problems lying beneath the surface and are not the fault of SP2.
    We will just have to keep trying to wear you down to try again.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    You have as much chance wearing me down as wearing down the ocean.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Are you saying that everyone who has problems with SP2 already had deeper problems before the installation? I hardly think so. I had minimul problems with my computer, if I had I would have posted them here. I step forward and 2 steps back.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Gloria,

    Don't be afraid. Just visit Windows XP Service Pack 2 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers (yes, yes, you are professional!), download Service Pack 2 and save it to your hard drive. I would recommend even burn this download onto CD.

    And only next install Service Pack 2 from downloaded file. I swear it will be no problems with upgrade!

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    No Stuart, I didn't make an image, I was assured that SP2 would go on like a hot knife goes through butter. I don't know how to make an image, if it takes all that just to install an update, I want no part of it.

    There was no other iformation with the blue screen of death. I will check the event log and post back if I see anything that might help me identify the cause. Device manager both before and after showed no conflicts.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    <hr>Are you saying that everyone who has problems with SP2 already had deeper problems before the installation<hr>
    No. Read the post again, carefully. I'm saying that you shouldn't use this as an excuse to continue avoiding SP2, simply because attempting the installation revealed that you had problems you didn't know existed. It's pretty clear that you were looking for a reason to say "I told you so."
    -Mark

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    No Mark, that's not true. I had my fingers and eyes crossed as it was downloading I had some friends here at the time and they all stood behind me watching the progress. A couple said that if it went on flawlessly for me they would install it too. I was praying that I had no problems with the install, not only for me but also for the others.

    I still have no idea what was wrong nor where the problem lies, therefore how can I make adjustments if I don't know what to adjust or fix?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Take Mark's advice and download the IT professional's version of SP-2. That just means it is the full version and not just what Windows/Microsoft Update thinks you need. Some of the issues early on with SP-2 were people who used Windows/Microsoft update instead of the full version. I thought that the problems had been worked out but you may have a configuration that is known to have a problem (you might be able to search the MS support site to see). Also, see Surviving a Service Pack. I know you've been told the stepabout backup because I posted about sp-2 to you in posts start with <post:=598,859>post 598,859</post:>. Whenever you make a major change to your PC (and a service pack is a major change) you should back up first.

    The error you posted about is almost always a driver problem. Ensure that your drivers, particularly for your NIC and video card, are up-to-date.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Like this

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install of SP2 (Win XP SP1)

    Perhaps now you will realize just how ignorant I am about computers. Please tell me what is a NIC card, how can I tell who's the manufacturer, and find out the version of the drivers it has now? I know nothing, nada, ziltch about hardware, the only information I have on hardware is what is listed when I use Belarc Advisor. I've just recenly learned how to update drivers.
    Your're dealing here with Jane in the first reader.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •