Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Albany, New York, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    Hi Folks,
    I have a shared database with custom menus and toolbars. In the Startup properties window everything is unchecked except

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    There is an alternate method:

    Alt + F1 is supposed to do the same as F11

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    In my version of Access, Alt+F1 opens the help window. It is not listed in Keyboard Shortcuts - Access either.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    I hadn't taken the version into consideration. The key combo is from A2K

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Albany, New York, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    Thanks for the replies folks, Alt F1 opens the help task pane on 2003 as Hansv posted. I don't know what's wrong with her PC but F11 just doesn't work.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    Does F11 work in other applications on her PC?
    In Word, for example, F11 moves the selection to the next field (if the document contains fields)
    In Excel, F11 creates a chart from selected data.
    If F11 doesn't work there either, the keyboard might be defective.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    Also, double-check also that the keyboard doesn't have any special features. For example, the keyboard I use has alternative functions for the function keys (for example, F11 on my computer will open a text editor). There is an "F-Lock" button that toggles between these customised settings and the standard use of the F keys.
    Waggers
    If at first you do succeed, you've probably missed something.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Albany, New York, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    Thanks again folks for the excellent suggestions, It is a new keyboard (others have the same one though). She's out today so I can't check but I'll bet that's what it is.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Albany, New York, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    How can I address the database window in VBA? If it's just a keyboard malfunction, I should be able to open the window programmatically, correct?

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    The way to activate the database window using code is to select a database object in the database window. For example, if you have a form named Switchboard:

    DoCmd.SelectObject acForm, "Switchboard", True

    The True argument at the end specifies that the form must be selected in the database window. This automatically displays the database window.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Albany, New York, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 key don't work (2003 sp-1)

    Thanks Hans, I didn't know that. That's what I'm going to do. My colleague is still out sick so I won't be able to test it, but thanks in advance for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •