Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copy table (2003)

    Is there a way of copying a table from Word, and posting it into Excel, and keep the same cell sizes? If not, how do I make sure the units of size in Excel are in cm, so I can change the cell sizes manually.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Copy table (2003)

    I assume that you want to end up with an Excel table, not a Word object or a picture. If that is correct, the answer to your first question is no.

    Column widths in Excel are measured in characters, there is no way to set inches or centimeters as unit.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy table (2003)

    Yes I do want to end up with an Excel table.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Copy table (2003)

    There is no really good way to convert column widths in centimeters to the character units used by Excel; the relationship is not entirely linear. Adjusting the column widths manually is probably the best way. As you drag the right edge of a column header, Excel will display the column width in character units and in points. There are 72 points in 1 inch, or 28.35 points in 1 cm.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sheffield, Yorkshire
    Posts
    951
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Copy table (2003)

    Thanks Hans. At least I've now got something to work on.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Copy table (2003)

    Another option is to "AutoFit" the columns after the import

    just to select the columns:
    Format - columns - autofit selection

    Steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •