Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Hello all,
    I'm working on creating what's called a "roll schedule". We use it for printing serialized labels. This makes it easy for the person doing the printing. Here's an example: we will print 100,000 labels total, the labels are on rolls of 10,000. The roll schedule is used to show the sequence to be printed on each roll i.e.
    roll 1 00001 10000
    roll 2 10001 20000
    roll 3 20001 30000
    etc......for 10 rolls
    I can create this schedule manually but what I'm looking to do is to automate this because some jobs may be for 100 rolls. I do this now by creating the first two rows and then drag down to fill in for the total number of rolls. What I would like to be able to do is just type in my starting number, total number of labels, and number of labels on a roll and have the schedule created automatically. Is this possible ?? Many thanks for anyone's input.

    - BOB -

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Does this do what you want?

    Change the values in A1:A3 and the values should change. I went to 100 rolls...

    Steve

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Wow Steve...that does exactly what I was trying to do......I can't thank you enough !

    Users here at Woody's are the best ! !

    - BOB -

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Hi Steve,
    One more question if you don't mind...
    Can this be modified if the serial number is larger than 5 digits and still be able to show the leading zeros ? We do get some serial #'s that are 7 or 8 characters and sometimes alphanumeric. Thanks very much again for your help on this !

    - BOB-

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    If you want to change the display to always be 8 characters it can be done by selecting the cells and formatting [format - cells - number (tab) - custom and add the number of zeroes to display)

    If you want it variable I can add the number of digits as a new item at the top, and modify the formulas to display this number (user enters manually) or i can base it on the total chosen to ensure that there are as many digits as the last value. (automatic)

    Just let me know what you want...

    Steve

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Is this what you wanted?
    Legare Coleman

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Hi Steve,
    thanks for the reply. I should have been more specific in my original post. A serial number sequence can vary from 3 digits to 8 digits and more of our customers are using alpha-numeric sequences (base33, base 36) to increase the numbers available. I guess the best way would be to base it on the # of characters in the starting number.

    - BOB -

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Creating a 'roll schedule' (2003, SP2)

    Hi Legare,
    Yes...that would work very well for an 8 digit serial number sequence......thank you for taking the time to work on this !

    - BOB -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •