Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    I had this problem with Fx 1.x as well, and it is still present in Firefox 2.0.

    When I load this address http://www.streetmap.co.uk/newmap.sr...2&y=219138&z=3 in Firefox, it is a matter of luck how many of the 9 map squares get displayed, usually zero, one or two. However in IE6 it always loads perfectly.

    Any ideas, please, for anything I can do? Do other people see the same problem?

    Thanks

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    This page loads equally as well in IE and FF2 (al least for me). In IE, the 9 squares are displayed almost simultaneously. In FF, each square seems to load individually, but still very quickly.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Works for me too (FF 2). I even tried the little buttons to scroll the map. Have you tried starting Firefox in Safe Mode to see if an extension is making it misbehave?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    I notice that when I navigate using any of the arrows, the cached images are displayed immediately as you would expect, then they are replaced with a jiggle. I'm not sure how the script works, but there appear to be some inefficiencies...

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    FF 2 works fine for me on the site in question.

    Paul

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Yes, I tried restarting Firefox 2 in safe mode, but there was no improvement in the non- or partial display of the map squares. There is no problem whatever in IE6, annoyingly!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Well, chaps, the problem seems to be specific to my Dell Dimension 8300 (3 GHz, 1 GB RAM, NVidia GeForce 5200). Changing the refresh rate for the LCD screen makes no difference. Any ideas what else I can try?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Hi John

    Allow me an off the wall theory. I can see in the code this

    <td>[img]/image.dll[/b]?ShowImage&image=SO82SW42.gif&road=Y&loc2=e7&type= O[/img]</td>

    This code is available in each grid and is the method of how the image is pulled onto the page and zooms

    I am particularly interested in the emboldened image.dll which is a serverside include. Rattling around some other forums it mentions in some ad aware and other mal ware software may block it hence why you only get a part grid. Try going to the contents tab in Tools|Options... and add this site to your Allowed sites...worth a try. Sorry if it is off the wall <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jerry

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Thanks, Jerry, it looked like a Good Idea but FX 2.0 doesn't have an "Allowed Sites" as such - see attachment. I tried with and without the Popup Blocker being checked - no difference - and with and without Load Images Automatically (no use!).

    John
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    oh <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    I was taking my example from 1.5.0.7 (my laptop) I have FF2 on my Home PC...let me check and report back
    Jerry

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Try the opposite: turn off JavaScript and then reload the site.

    Did anyone already ask about extensions, particularly any relating to ads, Flash or images?

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    Hi John

    Jeff has probably got it with the suggestion of extensions remember <post:=617,821>post 617,821</post:>..... <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Jerry

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    I'm sorry, everyone, but I've been there before, already!

    I've tried starting Firefox in safe mode, and there's no difference in the entirely random display of between zero and four or five map squares on each refresh. Turning off Javascript gives no map squares filled in at all, ever.

    There's absolutely no problem whatever in IE6, which is rather galling...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    > There's absolutely no problem whatever in IE6

    So why not use IE to visit this site? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Non-display of map squares (Fx 2.0)

    I suspect John doesn't want to be galled <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •