Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    I'm attempting to create a simple bar chart. After the first pass with the wizard, I find the height of the bars is to large to have all the results display. I've been able to shrink the fonts on both axis, but can't seem to locate the chart design option which controls the height of each bar.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Do you really mean a bar chart, not a column chart? For a bar chart, you cannot really specify the height of the bars, except if you double click a series and select Options in the Format Series dialog, you can specify the space between bars. If you have a large number of data points, a bar chart may not be the best chart type - a column chart or line chart might be better.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Hans,

    Darn. I had hoped I overlooked something.

    I can have 20-30 data points in the series. I chose the Bar chart as the data labels are names that can run 30-40 characters long and they are easier to read in a Bar chart format. Its interesting that Excel will do a perfect job on the data whereas Access struggles with it. I'll play a bit with the column chart, but this particular data series is easier to read and make comparisons in the the Bar format.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Is increasing the height of the entire chart height an option?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Yes it is. I had tried that, but it didn't overcome the problem.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Hi Marty,

    Just to clarify are the bars the entire chart height and you can't see the tops of them? If it is sounds like the scale is set to manual for y axis (if it's manual then the axis will not auto extend & hence you data disappears of the top of the chart)

    My company has done a heap over the years now with graphs in access and as yet have not struck something that Excel can do that Access can't do. Must admit that the graphing interface in access takes a bit of getting used to, but it should be able to do what you want....The attached example generates perfectly well, longer names etc... are you able to post a sample? or a screen dump of what it looks like? I maybe able to help out if you haven't solved it yet.

    Cheers
    Tony

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Tony,

    I'm not seeing any option for manual on the category axis. I've tried various sizes for the graph area on the page, but it seems to scale to what ever size I use ... except it always drops off 3 category lines because the bars are too high. I appreciate any insights you may have as I would like to solve this for the long term. However in the short term I'm going to do this manually by creating a "progress meter" like display.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Access should be able to display the chart correctly - I have bar charts with more categories displaying all categories correctly. It's hard to guess what might cause your problem. If you wish, you can post a stripped down copy of your database, so that Loungers can investigate the problem directly. See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Hi Marty,

    Looks like the value of the data is greater that the axis value, attached is an example where the 2 images show in design view that that graph data fits in the chart, when you right click and check the axis scale it is flagged to auto to allow it to adjust as required. The 2 bottom pic's show the same chart where I've fixed the axis and it shows the data extending past the top of the graph.

    You should be able to in design view clearly see and format your graph, just ensure the data table when editing the graph contains the same data that you get back from your query when you set it up. (Of course you need to factor in Min/Max values for your data when you develop the report if you do fix the axis, if not it should auto extended no problems)

    Cheers
    Tony

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    If I read Marty's last reply correctly, his problem is that not all categories are displayed.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Hi Hans

    I took Martys reference to the bars being to high relating to a possible fixed axis as I got the impression he wasn't expecting them to be. I was thinking he may have selected a stacked bar, hence stacked the categories and can't see them due to the axis.

    Hopefully if he can post the report we can take a look.

    Cheers
    Tony

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    I've attached a db with Bar Chart report (rptClientReCertificationStatusChartOrig) and two tables of sample data. You'll notice that on ly 15 of 16 data points show up. In production there will generally be 30-40 data points, so bar height is import. I

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    Hi Marty

    Right click on the chart, open the properties for the chart and set the 'Column Heads' to yes. (It is currently set to no) this will reveal the missing data. When the Column Head is set to no it ignores the first row of data - see the note in the status bar.

    Cheers
    Tony

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    I was sure it would turn out to be something really simple.

    Based on yur experience, any books you would recommend to get a better ounderstanding of how to work with the Access graph engine; e.g. Access Graphing for Dummies?

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Bar Charts: Bar Height (2003 - SP2)

    TonyR has already posted the solution to your problem. It was impossible to guess at the cause and solution without seeing the actual report, because you claimed that 3 categories (instead of 1) were missing... <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •