Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Acronis incremental backups

    I am using Acronis True Image 8 on my two Win XP SP2 machines.
    I have been doing incremental backups to a 40 GIG external hard drive.
    Soon, the external drive will be full.
    Can I delete any of the incremental backup files from the external drive to create more space for more incremental backups?
    Thanks,
    Jack
    Jack

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Lewiston, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    Hi Jack,
    My understanding is that once you've broken the series of the incrementals you've lost the restore-ablitiy to your last increment. I would do another full backup and start fresh with the incrementals.
    Btw, how many incrementals do you have? On my system I'm running around 27 gigs on the main, and roughly 150,000 - 200,000 per incremental.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I do NOT do "Incremental" backup, just Full ones. This way I can delete the older ones as needed for storage room. Also NOTE that the rebuilds are a LOT faster, only one image to restore vs many. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    Jack,
    I agree with Dave on this. I do only full backups, generally only once a month if there wasn't any major changes or additions to the system. I keep about three or four of the latest Images and delete the older ones.

    Now that TI 10 allows image backups of just email, address book and favorite folders, I make backups of those items more frequently.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I also only do full backups with True Image. I use 2 120GB external hard drives and alternate between the two on a monthly basis (or right before and right after a major system change). I use an old 40GB drive to do selective daily or weekly backups, again depending on the amount of work I'm doing, of My Documents and other frequently modified or newly created files & folders using drag & drop in Windows Explorer.

    To answer your question, as Bob said, if you delete any of the incrementals, you can't restore the image and I'm not sure if you can add to it or even mount it to restore or remove the data that is there.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I'll join the chorus and say that I too only do full backup images once each week. My first reason was the short time required to do a full backup, as well as not having to fool around with all those incrementals. Like others, I have two external USB drives to which I alternate my weekly images, deleting the oldest each time to make room. Given the sizes of my two drives, I have about 6 or 8 backup images to fall back on if it were ever necessary. I also use the two drives to do nightly selected file backups.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I have True Image V. 9.0 (2,259) I haven't done much by way of image backups so I have a question about how it is done. When you make these image backups, do you direct them to a folder on the backup HD, a volume on the backup HD or do you dedicate the whole backup HD to these images? The reason I ask, is any time I have even thought about trying this and point to my backup HD for a place to create an image, the warning appears saying all data will be wiped from the backup HD if I go forward with my project.

    I


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    Tell more about this "Backup" drive, i.e. size, type and etc!
    I have never seen a message like that using TrueImage.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I find the combination of a Full backup followed by Differential backups gives a good compromise. You need to keep the full backup and any differentials that you want, but you can happily delete older differential backups. When the size of the differential gets to be more than about 10% of the full, I create a new full backup and start again.

    StuartR

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I've never seen that message either. Sounds like something you'd get if the drive isn't formatted or is formatted in a non-standard way. Are you sure you're selecting the BACKUP choice in the TI menu, and not "prepare disk" or some other choice?

    On my two backup dedicated drives, I keep images in the root and nightly backups in specified folders for same. Obviously, the choice is yours.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    (I probably should have started a new thread for this. My apologies to jasuhill for <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>)

    Hi Al and Dave

    I think my confusion has resulted from the two terms that have been discussed (image vs. backup) and what they really mean. I've just ran a quick search and cannot pick up the thread that I remember - apparently not very well - which dealt with what these terms meant.

    So I believe what I did - since I've just tried it again - was to select the clone option thinking that it would give me the perfect image of my HD. So by selecting backup, I am able to choose the place I want to put the backed up information. Is this backup considered an image then? I can do a full restore from simply booting up with a TI boot disk, reloading this back onto my hard drive and be up and running again in case something foul happens to my original hard drive?

    I don't know why but for some reason this whole process has confused me...... <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> Where's my dunce cap when I need it? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    I'll be bold and give you what I think the two words mean, sheer laziness on my part. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> A backup is a duplicate copy of something, intended to recover from a failure of the original of the "something." A backup can be simply an extra copy of a file, made with Windows Explorer, a set of copies of many files made with a zip type program, OR an "image" of an entire disk or partition. In my view, the word image simply indicates that it's a complete "picture" (bit-by-bit) of everything contained on that drive or partition.

    Your understanding of the restoration process is correct. Keep in mind that you can also do partial restores of selected files from an image and in this case you can do it from within Windows.

  13. #13
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    So to be sure I am clear about what I am doing - when I choose backup and then select the next option The entire disk contents or individual partition and finally the place to save it, I am creating a full "image" that can be restored to a newly formatted HD? Or it can be restored over the existing files on the HD to bring it back to the point in time which the "image" was made?


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    Yep.

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis incremental backups

    Say I have two laptops, Laptop A and Laptop B.

    I have built Laptop A to my corporate standard, browser, Office apps etc. I can now take an Image of the whole disc on Laptop A ( I use Ghost). I can then take Laptop B out of its box and place the image of Laptop A on it. The two laptops will be exactly the same, a clone of each other.

    I give the laptops to User A and User B from different departments and they do their work and require a back up of their files, this is when they copy/back up individual files and/or folders. A subtle but distinct difference.

    If User A drops Laptop A on the floor and breaks the hard disc, we can then place the Ghost image of the original Laptop A on a new disc and then place the back up files onto the image
    Jerry

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •