Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Hi,

    for some reason when I highlight a range of values I can't get the SUM total to appear at the bottom right corner. Is there a setting that I need to tunr back on?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Try the following:

    Right-click the status bar and select Sum from the popup menu (there are also other options, if you'd like to experiment).

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    But that the thing, for some reason I can't right click anf select sum. The option is not available. Could it be the data. I copied data from access and paste special it as text. However I did format this column as a number.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    You probably have the Status Bar turned off.
    View>Status Bar. Click the button
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    What happens if you enter a few numbers into a blank new workbook and select the cells?

    Which options do you see when you right-click Excel's status bar?

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Sammy - No the status bar is on.

    Hans - I get no options at all even in another workbook .

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Open a new workbook. Type three numbers in a column. Select the three cells. Do you get a sum?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Try the following:
    - Press Alt+F11 to activate the Visual Basic Editor.
    - Press Ctrl+G to activate the immediate window.
    - Type (or paste)
    <code>
    CommandBars("AutoCalculate").Enabled = True
    </code>
    - With the insertion point in that line, press Enter.
    - Press Alt+F11 to return to Excel.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    No no numbers. I tried that. I know that I got an error message earlier when about starting safe mode. However I have since rebooted my machine and still no numbers.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    If Hans's suggestion doesn't work, can you attach a screen capture of the simple excel test that I suggested?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    I tried to do a scree shot but the file was too big. I was using word.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Two more things to try:

    - Select Help | About Microsoft Office Excel...
    - Click 'Disabled Items'
    - If anything is listed, try enabling it.

    and if that doesn't help:

    - Select Help | Detect and Repair...

    About screen shots: try to crop the screen shot in Paint, and save it as a .png or .gif file.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    Make Excel about half screen. Right-click on the statusbar. Press print screen. Open paint. Lasso just the Excel portion. Edit copy. File New. Edit paste. Save as JPG. Now it should be small enough to attach
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    How does Hans type that fast? Must be the extra finger. <img src=/S/drop.gif border=0 alt=drop width=23 height=23>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't display Sums (Excel 2003)

    ok I figured it out and I am either an idiot or just really tired. I the screen was minimized thereby partially blocking the status window. By all accounts everything appeared ok. It was until I open analyst retrieve that I realized the subtle difference. Thank you to Hans & Sammy all the same.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •