Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    Greetings,
    I have another 'project'. I inheirted the attached (data changed to protect the company). I understand the workings of the file, but the prior owner did not complete the functionality of two buttons. The "Edit Selection" and "Delete Selection"

    This file acts like a database, and the large listbox refers to the "database" tab. I believe the range is defined as database.

    Based upon the selection being made in the list box on the Data Entry sheet, I need the above mentioned buttons to act accordingly.

    If a selection is deleted, then the ID number needs to be reset.

    Thanks,
    Brad

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    Brad,

    You're asking us to complete an application for you. That is not the purpose of the Lounge. If you have a specific, limited question, Loungers will readily help you as you have found. But we don't provide free software development.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    Ok,
    So how much is limited? I think I can figure out the delete code, but not the focus to the item selected.

    Is this too much to ask?

    Brad

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    Try to make a start, and ask a question when you get stuck, showing us how far you've come.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    > focus to the item selected
    What do you mean?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS">Sam Barrett, CACI </font face=comic>
    <small>And the things that you have heard... commit these to faithful men who will be able to teach others also. 2 Timothy 2:2</small>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    Sam,
    Within the file I attached, when I select one of the rows in the list box, how do I delete the row selected?

    Would it be easier to place the database directly where the list box is, and deal with the data directly? Thereby eliminating the listbox issue?

    thanks,
    Brad

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    The selected row in the list box is identified by the ListIndex property of the list box. It starts at 0 for the first row (if ListIndex = -1, the user hasn't selected a row).
    The data in the Database sheet start at row 2. So if the ListIndex is 3, you must delete row 5 of the Database sheet.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    US
    Posts
    439
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Activate Buttons (2003 sp3)

    All,
    I have decided to recreate this in Access. As I feel that determining how to capture the location in the list box relative to the database are beyond my abilities.

    At least in access I know how to handle this.

    Brad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •