3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Mail Merge formula (Word2000 sr-1a)

I am doing a document that I am trying to simplify my work on. I have set up a mail merge. One of the fields that I have is a product of two other fields. I can't figure out how to have it automatically do that formula within the merge field.
    For example:
    I have a field called "Payments" and another called "Term", another field is "Total of Payments", which is "Payments" X "Term". How do I have it do this automatically?

Any help is appreciated, I am new to this form letter/ mail merge business.

Rick

BAM

Re: Mail Merge formula (Word2000 sr-1a)

Hi Rick,

You can insert a formula field for this. Just press <Ctrl F9> to insert field braces and type an equals (=) sign. Then you can insert the merge fields you wan to use from the Insert Merge Field command.

What you want would be something like:
    { ={ MERGEFIELD Payments }*{ MERGEFIELD Term} }
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers!

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks BAM,

I was able to get the first question on the customer's names to work out, but I am having a problem with the "payments" x "Term". When I do the formula the way you explained, It simply shows the "100*120", in other words, it shows the formula: "payments x term", but not the result.
    What am I doing wrong

BAM

Hi Rick,

Did you include the Equals (=) sign at the beginning of the field? The equals sign indicates that a calculation is taking place. Otherwise Word simply reflects the mergefield data.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers!

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Yes, I did.
    the result that shows after I merge the document is { =100*120 }.
    Any other clues?

Rick

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

interesting thing just happened.