Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    If you (me) are currently running SUSE 10.1, and you want to upgrade, can you install 10.2 directly over 10.1 without losing settings or modifications?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Hi Chuck
    Yes is the simple answer. If you boot from cd one choice is to upgrade rather than full instal but there are some changes - my internet no longer works. If you are on ethernet router you should be ok and I think other changes may be minor, you may just have to tweak.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Peter:

    K, thanks.

    I've got two SUSE's... 10.1 as a VM on VMware, and a "full install" as a separate partition.

    I think I'm going to upgrade the separate partition so that I can look/see 10.2... but it seems there are problems getting 10.2 to recognize USB ports, so I'll keep the 10.1 guest, I think.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Before you risk either installation of 10.1, why not copy your VM installation, and upgrade the copy, to see what happens?
    Christopher Baldrey

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Chris:

    I think that unfortunately, I won't be able to upgrade to 10.2 as yet.

    There are some neat interface changes that I wanted to implement, and it would sure give me a chance to clean up my Firefox install, but I'm hearing that SUE10.2 isn't supporting USB (printers at least) as yet... at least not through VMware.

    And I'm having enough difficulty with my printer not working already...

    Oh well...

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Can I assume that your VM installation can see your Windows environment via a network connection? If so, then why not setup your USB printer in Windows, and allow it to be shared.

    Then, you simply need to setup the VM Suse installation to use the printer as a network device.
    Christopher Baldrey

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Chris:

    That's just what I thought... and just what I can't seem to accomplish.

    I set up a Win2K VM, and the printer showed up there no sweat, as //MSHOME/PrntStat/Canon_USB... but I couldn't/can't seem to make that work in SUSE.

    And I also have a partition of just SUSE 10, but it doesn't see the USB either... so it's got to be something I'm doing (wrong).

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    As I look back at previous posts about your printer and linux, I notice you have a Canon S330. In <post:=612,197>post 612,197</post:> I suggested looking at the Linux Printing website.

    Your printer isn't listed, however the S300 is. I would think it be very similar. The S300, is listed as only partially working, so your mileage may vary. Hope this helps.
    Christopher Baldrey

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SUSE 10.1 to 10.2

    Chris:

    I'll take another look... I apologize, it's been a bit hectic here...

    Thanks,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •