Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22
  1. #16
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    JetComp can be downloaded from the Microsoft site. It was included in earlier Jet service packs but the latest SPs no longer include it, although you can download it separately. Here's the knowledgebase article Q273956 <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q273/9/56.ASP>ACC2000: Jet Compact Utility Available in Download Center</A> that describes it and how to get it.
    Charlotte

  2. #17
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manassas, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    I would be most interested in the code behind the approach you have displayed.

    One further note, I have finally pinpointed the fact that the error message is appearing when the record is being saved. I removed the code that was saving the record and the data from the combo box appears in all the fields in my form until I try to move off the record which of course would cause Access to save the record.
    Judy Jones, Computer Training Specialist
    Manassas, Virginia

  3. #18
    Star Lounger bobdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    <P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by charlotte on 26-Jul-01 22:30.</FONT></P>Edited to eliminate horizontal scrolling due to wide image

    Charlotte, you're simply amazing. Whatever you're getting paid, it's not enough.

    At the risk of interjecting another approach to Judy's question, it sounds like the data she's tracking is hierarchical and may lend itself to a treeview control as a "finder". I've used this approach for our billing records and it might work here.

    If you set up a two panel screen, with the left half containing a treeview control, the tree branches could be the various schools in Judy's district. Populating the tree would be fast because it's a short list. The On Click event on a branch can execute a query calling up the students for that particular school, displaying student names in the right panel, again a relatively short list. The On Click event in the student names can then display a traditional form for the student, with the student's criminal history, er, "incidents" displayed in a subform. Closing the form redisplays the treeview form.

    As I recall, I found this approach in the help file for the treeview control (is it Microsoft Windows Common Controls 2?) It's kinda picky to set up, but it works great for my purposes and I don't think it would choke the way that a combo box does because you're nibbling your way to the record you want, pulling only relevant records.

    In my app, I also use the progress bar control from the same library to provide invoice totals on the right panel.

    I'll be glad to share the code. You've bailed me out a couple of times; I'm happy to return the favor if you folks are interested.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #19
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    <hr>Whatever you're getting paid, it's not enough.<hr>
    <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>
    Didn't you realize that all the moderators and WMVPs are strictly volunteers?
    Charlotte

  5. #20
    Star Lounger bobdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    Told you it wasn't enough. <img src=/S/broke.gif border=0 alt=broke width=31 height=23>

    I've sent a working example and a readme file to Judy by email. Glad to help.

  6. #21
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Manassas, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    Thank you for the sample database you sent. It seems I can learn more by examining samples of what other people do than by reading all the books I have on Access. Your assistance is most appreciated.
    Judy Jones, Computer Training Specialist
    Manassas, Virginia

  7. #22
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,870
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo Box - Too many records? (Version 2000)

    Hi Bobdog

    Could you post or email to me the database you sent to Judy?

    Thanks, John

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •