Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    About once every other day I get the message that IExplorer has generated errors and needs to close. I performed a search here and found no matches, is there a way to fix this error? There's a Repair IE in Control Panel, should I use that option?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    Gloria,
    Go into Control Panel>Administrative Tools> Event Viewer.
    Look in the various catagories for any error messages or warning messages.

    If you right click on an error and click properties, it will give you some type of explanation for the error. If you can't decifer the message, post it back here for us to take a look.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    That's a generic message that some program tried to access the memory space of another program. It is rare that IE would do this to itself, but plug-ins/ActiveX controls/third party toolbars might cause this. Unless you get a very specific module name in the message, the best approach probably is to track exactly what pages cause the problem and see whether we can narrow it down to a particular ActiveX control used on that page (e.g., PDF, Flash, Windows Media, sounds/music). If it is more random, then perhaps it is a toolbar or other "BHO" (Browser Helper Object).

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    I found in Event Viewer four errors with Event ID: 1000. Properties lists the Faulting Application as iexplore.exe version 6.0.2800.1106.

    Source: Application Error Faulting Module: MSHTML.DLL C:WindowsSystem32 version: 6.0.2800.1561
    The same error occured on 12/21; 12/17; 12/08 and 12/07, the probable dates when the errors occurred on my computer. It also under Symbolic Name listed ER_USERCRASH_LOG.

    The Explanation was "The indicated program stopped unexpectedly. The message contains details on which program and module stopped. A matching even with Event ID 1001 might also appear in the event log. This matching event displays information about the specific error that occurred.

    The above information is also for jscher2000, I decided to post once for both of you.
    The error doesn't appear to be serious, but you never know. I hope this information helps you to decide what I should do.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    Hi Duchess

    I have checked MSKB and it appears the solution is here:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923996

    It appears you need to update your service packs and critical updates. Dare I say it appears to be in Service Pack 2 <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    Jerry

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    You know how long it took me to install SP2, it will take me twice as long to try again. I knew something bad would happen and it did. I will update critical updates but for the other........Forget About It.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    Jerry beat me to it.

    ( I won't say anything else, I promise. ) I might THINK it but....... <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    Jezza, I just read KB 923996. It doesn't appear to apply to me, I don't have SP2 and the mentioned App Ver doesn't apply either unless I have misunderstood what I read.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    Ok

    I did a search in MSKB for "6.0.2800.1561" and it came up with http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/...n/MS06-042.mspx which seems to discuss the acumulative patch 918899 which is mentioned in my original post to MSKB.

    Even if you don't want to go down the SP2 path again, I really think that you should get these service packs uploaded anyway as these appear as web sites change their technologies.
    Jerry

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    As long as you just think about it I won't place you at the top of my you know what list.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    Well, you have to remember that XP SP-1 is no longer supported. MS is under no obligation to test,correct, or report any issues with XP SP-1. If you installed MS06-042: Cumulative security update for Internet Explorer you could still be vulnerable. That fix introduced a regression that is the culprit and it says it applies to XP SP-1 & IE 6 SP-1. The fix for the issue MS06-067: Cumulative security update for Internet Explorer says that it applies to XP SP-2. I think that is because XP SP-1 is not supported. You may choose to believe what you wish.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Errors (IE 6.0 SP1)

    With the amount of problems you are having, I would back up ALL data and do a clean install of Windows. Then update it to the "gills" including SP2. Then I would start adding in ONLY the programs that you use. Add only those utilities that you need and run the system for a while between installing utilities.

    Bottom line, you need to do this or forget doing any more updates, as most will or do require SP2. Remember also that some of the utilities also require SP2.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •