Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    I supervise a small computer lab (7 PCs, 4 iMacs) at our local Senior Citizens Center where we offer classes in XP, OE, IE, etc. They are all connected to a LAN and via DSL to the Internet. One problem is that during their lessons the students change the Desktop configuration (as well as some other folders) and I'm wondering if there is a way to store a standard Desktop configuration somewhere and have it automatically load on booting up.

    Also, recently (perhaps after the first of the year) we're noticing that some of our wireless connected PCs are somewhat randomly losing their Internet connections after being initially connected. They are still connected to the LAN, but lose their Internet connection. We're using an AT&T DSL ISP, and I'm wondering if AT&T has changed something with their network or in our router/DSL modem. The only solution we have found so far is to reboot.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    You could try this <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> Amelix Icon Manager Lite. Not sure if it has command line switches so it may need to be run from Windows. Softwarium: Restore Desktop for Windows (also <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>) claims to have versions for both PCs and Macs. But the Mac version but for older Mac is for PowerPCs and pre-OSX.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    Have you looked into Deep Freeze ?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    Hi Dave,
    Thanks, this looks like the right kind of application, as it returns to a default configuration on boot up. The other suggestions merely restore desktop icons to their place after a change in resolution.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    Deep Freeze is what our local SeniorNet group uses to restore the system, not just the desktop. On power down all changes including data fies, AV and OS updates are lost. Any data must be saved to a non protected drive or device.

    There are special steps that need to be taken to upgrade sw, OS and etc, the system is booted in a non protect mode (requires password), then all OS, AV and etc updates are done, rebooted to a protected mode, now the system is ready for use in the protected mode.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    Is this article on the Office Watch site any help?

    http://news.office-watch.com/t/n.asp...id=21&zoneid=5

    Ian

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    Does this all work with XP Home computers? I know that XP pro is required in some cases due to the added networking features.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    Hi Ian,
    What you suggest only takes care of restoring the desktop icons to their original configuration. It doesn't complelty revert to a default computer configuration.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA.
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    I use Iconoid, which downloaded free, after I submitted to this forum the same concern you have, and someone recommended it to me.
    I like it very much, because it restores on boot up the icon positions saved. It has many other features, among them, that it can be hidden, so your students will no alter the settings.
    Good luck.

    DanielR

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    The copy that was being used when I was there worked for both 98 and XP as we were dual boot the two OS's.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Configuring Desktop (XP Home SP2)

    H Dan,

    To repeat, I don't want to simply return the icons to their original positions. I also want it to delete any icons that were added, restore any icons that were deleted, and also to return certain file folders to their original configuration. In other words, a complete return to the computer's original default configuration.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •