Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    I have been asked to find a way to roll out out a standard autocorrect across the whole organisation.
    I would like to add a single new autocorrect entry to the shared applications .ACL (autocorrect list) file for each user profile including the defult profile on all comptuers on a network.
    Does anyone know how to do this?
    I would like the users to keep their original .ACL file so that they do not loose their existing autocorrect list. I accept that they may have an Autocorrect entry by the same name and this would need to be overridden.
    Penny

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    As the .ACL file does not appear to be plain text, I think it is necessary to automate Word to add an entry to the file. One way to do that is using VBA (or, I suppose, VB or VBScript), along the lines demonstrated in Microsoft's support.dot template, described in this article: How to move Word AutoCorrect entries between computers in Word 2003 (MSKB 826147). Perhaps someone has published a more pinpoint solution online. If not, it might be a fun project. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    Hi Jefferson. Thanks for your detailed answer. I had found most of this on the microsoft.com website but found myself thinking it would be easier to manual update all 300+ machines with the single autocorrect. I had gone done the Macro/VBA route but was limited my my knowledge of VBA and how to create one that I can run on all users profiles. Since I am the dumb Word Trainer I guess I will have to leave that to my department colleagues (IS).Since I am not trusted with Admin rights I would not be able to install the suppport template and test it out but it does seem like a lenghty process. I was hoping there was an easier solution that I had missed. this macro written in Word will update the ACL file on a single machine/user but how to I get it to role out to everyone and what happens if there is already a CA autocorrect?

    Sub AutoExec()

    '

    ' autocorrect macro

    ' Macro recorded 03/01/2007 by Penny Whittaker

    '

    autocorrect.Entries.Add Name:="ca", Value:="Christian Aid"

    End Sub
    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    You could add a line

    On Error Resume Next

    at the beginning of the macro; this suppresses the error message that would occur if an entry already exists.

    You could ask the IT department to distribute the macro, or you could make the document with the macro available on the network and ask all users to open it once, or you could e-mail the document to all users. if you name the macro AutoOpen it will be run automatically when the document is opened.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    Here's a VBScript that will add the above AutoCorrect entry when run. The idea would be to add this to the login script.

    Word can either be running or not. It's possible that the macro will fail if Word is busy doing something (e.g., with a dialog active). I haven't tested it very much. In Word 2003, any previous AutoCorrect entry for "ca" is overriden with the new value. If you wanted to NOT override it, some additional code would be required.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    Wow, Thanks Jefferson.

    I have taken a peek at the VB file (more for my own education) and forwarded to our Ops/Development guiys to hopefully deploy. Thank you so much for your help in supporting Christian Aid,

    Penny

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    Hi Jefferson, I have tested the macro you have created and even added an additional line for another autocorrect.
    The macro works brilliantly with what seems to be one anomaly. It does indeed create a new autocorrect entry in Word but does not appear to update the office ACL file. This means that when I run Excel or PowerPoint it does not work until I open the Word Autocorrect options dialog box, then the new entries become available in Excel etc.

    I am wondering whether I need to copy and paste the VB for each applicaiton I want to update (Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook) updating it with the new application code. ("appExcel?, appPowerPoint? and appOutlook?) to elliminate this problem? I hope you get my drift. PW

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    That's strange - Jefferson's VBScript file modifies my default .acl file, and the new entries are immediately available in all Office applications, without first having to do something in Word.

    Try closing all instances of Office applications (Word, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, Access) before running the VBScript file.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autocorrect 2003 (Not known)

    Yep, Hans I think you are right. I was testing it on my PC and it did not apear to work. It seems it was because I still had Outlook open which effectively was the same as not closing word. Once I closed down all Office applicaitons magic occurred.

    Since we will be running it from a login script users will probably have nothing else open so it shoudl work straight away.
    Thank for the very quick reply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •