Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Block Internet access... sometimes

    (Sorry if I selected the wrong forum maybe - feel free to repost in the proper location if needed)

    I'm creating an extra bootable WinXP (Home) SP2 partition on one of my systems with the intention to allow my kids to play games (SIMS etc) there only. I won't install anything else than a virus scanner & firewall (the rest, Office, tools etc. are going to be on another partition in another boot -also WinXP Home).

    Of course I do want updates to come at certain times but mostly the Internet is NOT needed (we will all do that in the other Windows boot partition, where the kids do Internet games, MSN etc). I'm looking for a simple way to always block all internet connections (and I mean all), unless someone opens that up (no, I am not doing this to keep kids off the internet so a simple solution -even without passwords- is good enough). Of course, every once in a while I DO want to re-establish the connection and get some updates (virus & MS security) in. Is this all possible in a simple way? Standard in WinXP (Home!) or with a simple script maybe?

    Related (but different): can I make this games-disk (partition) invisible from the other partition (in which we also boot) and v.v.? I'd like to avoid any spyware, viruses to jump from one area (partition) to the other. As sometimes, I DO want to e.g. transfer files, it would be great also here if I could switch that on and off. I know there's a TweakUI interface setting to disable disks from being visible but that's maybe a little too weak, I'd prefer a way to make it really invisible in Windows.

    Thanks for any help and/or suggestions!

    EJ

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    Would the suggestion I made in <post:=560,722>post 560,722</post:> work for you?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Withyham, Sussex, England
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    You may find that an easy way of doing what you require is via virtual machines. Either VmWare or Microsoft's, both are free. If you install a virtual machine you can isolate it completely from the net / network and your kids can do what they like without disturbing your main machine.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    This is great information. Some of my customers are maintaining their old W98 laptops and PC's so they can program some 2-way radios. Although most of the programming software will now run in XP, there is some out there that doesn't. This causes headaches for them, because the applications that they use from me, all need WXP, as well as their associated ASP's. Think I am going to pass this on to them. Microsoft Virtual PC
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    OK, allow me one more effort to revive this one.

    I appreciate both suggestions wrt blocking of Internet access but these are not really what I was looking for: virtual machines will be too much of a burden and resource-hog on my relatively older system (apart from the fact the games are normally much more demanding and I'd doubt if I wouldn't run into compatibility issues). The "www" blocking seems nice but doesn't offer a full protection.

    Maybe I should extend the search to software then (if the standard windows settings won't help); I remember that ZoneAlarm has a so-called "Internet Lock" setting which is said to block ALL Internet access. I'd need something like that (it should be locked by default unless I want to manually open it -for updates etc.-). Any simple software that allows this?
    What would also work is to e.g. open Internet only for certain accounts, maybe that is possible then?

    (I'll spin-off the other question into a separate topic - sorry for mixing the two intitally)

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    It seems you have answered your own question - ZA should do what you want!

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    OK... had that one coming. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    It's more than a lock and costs some money and worth the try maybe. Of course I then need to know if the lock can be left ON by default, right?

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    Erik,
    I just locked my Internet in ZA, and it does not stay locked when you restart ZA. I looked in their help menu as well, and found that any program that you have allowed in there will not be blocked by the Internet lock either. There was also no mention of it in the default settings that I could see. I did not however set it then password protect it.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Block Internet access... sometimes

    Think I found a way to do this... I'll use the admin-account to have Internet access. For the 'games' account, I'll simply NOT enter the WPA-key for my wireless network in the settings for my modem. Found out that (in my case) this is required for each user that needs access. That solves it I guess ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •