Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Bios not seeing 2nd drive

I have an 80gig drive as my master (system and files), and a 210gig for storage.

In the last couple days, if I cold boot, everything starts up fine, but if I warm boot, the bios doesn't see my second drive, and bombs out.

Even when I cold boot, eventually I have read / write errors. I tried replacing the cable but that didn't do it.

One guy told me that it might be the drive controller.

That's two steps past my hardware knowledge.

If it is the controller, is that controller just for one drive (and another for the other)?. Is it a separate "piece" from the drive itself (so that I wouldn't fix it just by replacing the drive)?

Thhe repair shop I use wants $65 just to find the problem. I don't hold making money against anybody -- as long as it's not mine, at least as little as possible!

Any help here would be appreciated...

Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

Re: Bios not seeing 2nd drive

Have you run chkdsk? Some HD vendors supply diagnostic software. Have you checked that out? Is it under warranty? Have you run any diagnostic software for the PC generally just to make sure all it OK? Of course you've backed up the driver right?

Joe
    Joe

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

First of all, what do you mean by "warm boot" ? Usually this term means "forced restart of the computer when operating system hangs". Do you have major problems with your Windows installation?

If you mean "start from Standby or Hibernation mode", the problem can be power saver settings for your hard drives.