Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Connecting to Lounge question

    I've noticed a slow down in my computer's ability to access the Lounge. During the past few days, there were even times when I couldn't connect at all. So I figure something is going on someplace - or is it just me?

    Now this evening, I can get into the lounge so long as I have the IP address in my Host file on my PC. My iMAC is still giving me a ".....can't open the page (Woody's Lounge) because it can't find the server "www.wopr.com"." I'd plug in the IP number on my iMAC if I knew where it could be done but unfortunately, I am not familiar enough with it to be able to do this.

    So is there a problem being worked on or is it just me or is it someplace between me and "there"? Thanks for any information that can be given about this!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Connecting to Lounge question

    Hi Skitter,

    Yes, there is a problem - the DNS (domain name server) that tells the net which IP belongs to www.wopr.com isn't functioning. So only users who have the Lounge's IP address in their Hosts file can access it at the moment. (I don't know of an equivalent for the Apple Macintosh, unfortunately)

    Mike Wolfman (who hosts the Lounge) has been notified, we hope he'll be able to do something about it as soon as possible.

    Sorry for the inconvenience!

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Connecting to Lounge question

    Thanks for the update Hans. As much as I have enjoyed the iMAC, I'm sure glad I still have my trusty PC to use! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Connecting to Lounge question

    Here's a link to info about the equivalent of the Hosts file for the Mac: Mac OS X: How to Add Hosts to Local Hosts File

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Connecting to Lounge question

    Update: it looks like the problem has been solved - more Loungers are coming online by the minute. Phew!

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Connecting to Lounge question

    Thanks for the link! I added the WOPR IP to my iMAC and got in - although I see now that I probably could have without doing this, based on your response! I am writing this from my iMAC now.

    I don't imagine it will bother a thing to leave the IP number on here for a "just in case it happens again" scenario although I hope I won't ever need it again!

    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>Good work Mike! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Connecting to Lounge question

    The only time it should cause a problem connecting to the lounge (with the IP address in the hosts file), is if the IP address of the lounge changes, and you don't modify the hosts file.

    Sooo... it should be good for a while <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.
    Christopher Baldrey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •