Star Lounger
    Thanks

Omitting all null values in a report (Access 2003/SP 2)

I couldn't quite get this with the Report Wizard, so I'm sure I need to design the report from scratch (or modify heavily). I'm not too experienced in that, so I feel a bit overwhelmed. If someone is able to give me a nudge in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it.

I have a query where I extract comments from a survey about training. For simplicity's sake, we'll say the fields are: Trainer, Comment1, Comment2, Comment3. Not all comments have data. For example, Bob may have text in Comment1 and Comment3, while Mary has no comments at all.

I wish to create a report per trainer, and I want only to include comments that are not null. Is there an easy way of doing that? My best approach is the Outline report that reads like:
    Bob
    Comment1: blah, blah, blah
    Comment2: <<blank>>
    Comment3: Blah, blah, blah
    Mary
    Comment1: <<blank>>
    Comment2: <<blank>>
    Comment3: <<blank>>

Naturally, I want the final report to be:
    Comment1: blah, blah, blah
    Comment3: Blah, blah, blah

I'll even welcome kicks to the backside.

Kevin

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Omitting all null values in a report (Access 2003/SP 2)

If you can still change the data design, you should create a separate comments table, with 2 fields: Trainer and Comment, linked to the main table (sans the Comment fields) by Trainer. Each comment by each trainer would be a separate record, so if there are 2 comments by Bob, there would be two records for Bob, etc. That would make the report very easy to create.

If that isn't possible, omit the labels for the comments, and set the Can Shrink property of the Comment text boxes to Yes, as well as the Can Shrink property of the Detail section. Make sure there is no vertical overlap between the text boxes.

Star Lounger
    Thanks