Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: wowexec.exe

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,680
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    wowexec.exe

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Tricky on 24-Jan-07 11:27. Additional Info:)</P>I look at the task manager very often, almost to a fault... Today, for the first time, while reviewing the Processes tab, I noticed an odd line (highlighted in the pic). I'm not saying it hasn't always been there; it's just the first time I've noticed it. The word wowexec.exe actually begins with a space. This is different from all the other entries. Also, it's the only line that doesn't register any Mem Usage.

    I've googled on "wowexec.exe" but everything points to this being a Windows Ops System necessity. See Example.

    If it is indeed a safe and necessary Windows process, then it would be on your Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2 machines as well. If a few of you wouldn't mind checking... <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>

    Forgot to mention: I've already run the most up to date versions of Spybot S&D and AdAware. I'm also using the most up to date version the aVast Antivirus program. Other than a few tracking cookies (which I promptly deleted), there were no problems detected.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    - Ricky

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: wowexec.exe

    My Google Search that was limited to Microsoft.com lists several issues and most seem to be related to 16 bit games.
    Are you running any OLD games that may be 16 bit?
    If so then after quitting the game, the process can be killed.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: wowexec.exe

    I turned this up with a Google, but wasn't willing to pay for the full story.....
    [i]"NT's Win16 on Win32 (WOW) subsystem"
    so it seems that this is a legitimate Windows process, as Dave said, to allow 16 bit apps to run in a 32 bit environment.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,680
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wowexec.exe

    Doc / Dave:

    Do you run XP Pro and if so, does this process appear in your list as it does in mine?

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    - Ricky

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wowexec.exe

    This process appears when I run a simple little game called Same game left over from Win95/98 era. When I am finished playing, I will often go into the Process panel and end the task. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: wowexec.exe

    On our Pro machine, NO it is NOT there.
    And NOT running on my Vista Ultimate machine

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,680
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wowexec.exe

    Thanks for that. I've killed the process.
    - Ricky

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wowexec.exe

    It's in my XP Pro system as C:WINDOWSSystem32wowexec.exe and a little work with SysInternals's STRINGS gives

    CompanyName
    Microsoft Corporation
    FileDescription
    Windows Win16 Application Launcher
    FileVersion
    3.10
    InternalName
    WOWEXEC
    LegalCopyright
    Copyright
    Microsoft Corp. 1981-1996
    OriginalFilename
    WOWEXEC.EXE
    ProductName
    Microsoft
    Windows(tm) Operating System
    ProductVersion
    3.10
    WOW Version
    4.0

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: wowexec.exe

    I'm running XP Pro and wowexce.exe and a few other"wow" files are in my C:Windowssystem32 folder (see screen shot). Never saw it running in Task Manager.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,680
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Thank you

    Thanks to everyone who responded. Looks like I may have overreacted a bit. I thought for sure my system had been attacked <img src=/S/alien.gif border=0 alt=alien width=14 height=15> .

    After I killed the process, I went ahead and rebooted; just to see if wowexec would come back. It did not. This leads me to believe that there's 'some' program that I use that causes wowexec to startup. I'll keep an eye out to see if I can find the guilty program and append this message when I figure it out.

    Thanks again <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    - Ricky

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Thank you

    It is the 16 bit subsystem for running the old apps. It is usually activated when you install or run an old application or utility. If your system runs OK by turning it off in the task mgr then you could try to disable the service.

    It may be part of a UPS (Uninterruptable Power Supply) monitoring software such as Power Chute which is a "legacy" app since it uses the serial port to monitor the UPS in most cases.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,587
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Thank you

    It is exactly what your liutilities link in <post:=627,454>post 627,454</post:> said. WOW = Windows on Windows. It is for running 16-bit applications under win32. It will come back the next time you run some 16-bit program. Don't worry about it.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thank you

    Again, I learn something from this forum each and every day. I wondered why I was unable to remove programs in the registry that appeared under 'Legacy.' I started to post and ask why, but I already appear a little....shall I say ignorant about computers. Now I understand without asking.
    Thanks Doc.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wowexec.exe

    That file also appears in my Windows XP Home Edition, SP1 as Windows Win16 Application Launcher. Version:3.10.0.103. The WOW version's is 4.0.

    Jumped in here just for your information, forgive me for butting in.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Thank you

    And some of these "legacy" programs MAY create problems when one installs a Service Patch or two.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •