Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Dacula, GA, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    access 2002 (sr-1)

    I've just upgraded to Access 2002. My question is simple, I guess. I'm reading Que's SE Using Microsoft Access 2002. I want to use the Northwind.mdb to follow along with the examples. But I can't create any new tables using the sample database. I always get the "unexpected error unable to create the table" message when using the table wizard.

    Guess this has something to do with the security?? of Access 2002?? Can someone tell me how to get the sample (or any other database downloaded from a CD) to accept that I am the administrator?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    just go to windows explorer and copy the database to the directory you want then right click on the database and uncheck the read only attribute

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Dacula, GA, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    Nope, the read only attribute is not set in the sample database. I can't figure out what's going on. The table wizard works with databases I create from scratch. But not with any I copy from CDs or the sample Northwind database.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    Can you create a table directly from design view?
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Dacula, GA, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    No, I cannot create from design mode either. I get this error, "The search key was not found in any record." The table cannot be saved.

    This is not a problem for any new blank database that I create, or had created when I was using Access 2000.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    That pretty much localizes it to that particular sample database. Do all the samples behave this way or is it just Northwind? Oh, and is this the mdb or the project version of Northwind?
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Dacula, GA, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    Charlotte, it is the northwind.mdb found in Program Files/Microsoft OfficeOffice10Samples directory on my C: drive. This behavior is found with any databases copied or installed to the C: drive, including the databases found in the Que CD. These were installed to C:Program Filesseac, I think.

    As I said before, if I create my own database or use one created with Access 2000 (which I used before Access 10), I have no problems using the wizard or design mode to create tables for those databases.

    This is so odd.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    Usually when you copy samples from a CD, they come across as read-only until you turn off that attribute in the file's properties dialog--note that's the properties dialog you get to by right clicking the file in Windows explorer, not the internal properties when the mdb is open. You did that with all of those databases and they still behave the same way?
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Dacula, GA, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    Windows Explorer shows the read only attribute with no check marks. To be sure, I clicked to turn on the read-only attribute and then set it off again. Same result when trying to add a new table to the database, "unexpected error creating the table".

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    If you create a new database and import all the objects from the sample, does the new database behave the same way?
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Dacula, GA, USA
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    No it doesn't work the same. Charlotte, I made a new blank database, imported all the tables from northwind. Then I created a new table with no problem using the table wizard. Guess I'll import all the other queries, etc to follow the samples in the book.

    Can't figure out why the sample (and CD databases) will not allow new tables. I can do everything else (I haven't tried everything). I can change the data in the tables, save, go back and change to the original. Can't make a table though.

    I'd just like to find out the solution to the squirrelly thing Access is doing though. Thanks for your help. Let me know if somehow you think of the answer.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: access 2002 (sr-1)

    This sounds like what happened to me the other day with A2K sr1 --- just crazy kind of behavior. We used to call this the POTM syndrome (phase of the moon).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •