4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Archiving Eudora Email (Eudora 3.0)

I am a professor of business at a medium sized state university where I am also the Chairman of the Business Department. Being both a professor and an administrator means that I get a very large number of emails from students and I need to respond to each one. Often, the correspondence will stretch across several email exchanges so I will often need to refer to prior messages before drafting a response.

Since I am also the chair, I get a similarly large number of emails from the faculty in the department and other administrators at the university and these too sometimes require that I refer to prior messages before responding.

All of this means that I need to systemically organize and save all of the email coming into my account and going out of my account. I have a system for doing that but it is groaning under a huge number of messages so my concern is to find a better way of archiving messages.

The university where I work is on the semester system. Historically, most message threads end at the end of the semester. The classes are over and as soon as everyone sees their grade, and perhaps complains about it, the students gear up for the next semester. Similarly, most faculty and administrative functions wrap up at the end of the semester.

Currently, I use Eudora for my email. I use Eudora simply because it is the campus standard that IT installs on all the computers.

My message archiving system started when I was using CompuServe for email prior to much of anyone using the Internet. Once each semester winds down, I convert all of my email to ASCII files, one file per message, with the subdirectory structure of the ASCII files matching the folder structure for my Eudora mailboxes. I keep each semester set separate from the other semesters. Using this structure and a combination of knowing the mailbox structure and the Windows FIND command, I can almost always locate a specific message.