Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    Please bear with me and forgive a strange (and perhaps stupid) question: I have a fairly new Dell PC with the OEM XP Pro. I am able to purchase XP Pro SP2 upgrade academic version at a very reasonable price, and have the Dell Vista Business upgrade guarantee version to come . If I can, I would like to move from the OEM versions to full licence.
    Is it possible to convert from the XP Pro OEM version to the full licence version using a purchased upgrade CD without a format/reinstall?
    If not, can I do the conversion using a full (non-upgrade) version of XP Pro, again without a format/reinstall?
    The eventual aim is to have retail versions of both XP and Vista.
    Thank you for your input.

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    1. You can easily install WinXP retail "on top" of WinXP OEM - but it is make no sense: your Windows installation will remain the same.
    2. It does not matter which flavor of WinXP you install "on top" of another version of WinXP - upgrade or full: the result will be exactly the same.
    3. Windows Vista upgrade can be installed on any flavor of WinXP - retail or OEM - with the same result.
    4. If you want to have both versions, remember: you can install Windows on one computer only. That means, if you use Vista upgrade version to upgrade from WinXP, you can not use this version (installation key) of WinXP on another computer.

    In short, it is impractical to buy WinXP Pro Upgrade if you plan to move to Vista: most likely it will be cheaper to buy Vista Upgrade directly. ("Guarantee" does not mean "free".)

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    <center>
    <hr>The eventual aim is to have retail versions of both XP and Vista<hr>
    </center> Are these to be installed on two seperate machines or setup as a dual boot system on one machine ?? And I too am curious why you would want to "upgrade" from XP Pro OEM to XP Pro Academic Upgrade. What advantage do you hope to gain ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    Thank you both for your responses to my poorly articulated late night ramblings. I may well have misread the torrent of information on Vista licensing, installation and dual booting.
    I would like to be able to dual boot XP and Vista on my single PC. I had read elsewhere that it is not possible using installed Dell OEM XP and OEM Dell-supplied Vista $27 upgrade DVD to do a clean install of Vista on a separate drive, and dual boot the two systems, and that full (not upgrade) retail licence versions of both systems were required for this sort of setup.
    Additionally, another blunder- I recall reading that the Academic version of XP does not upgrade to Vista Business.
    I will leave well alone, and curb my curiosity for a year or two until a new PC forces Vista on me.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    You are correct that it is not possible to use an upgrade version of Vista to do a clean install. If you use the upgrade copy, it will only upgrade your existing installation of XP and in the process incorporate your XP licence into your Vista licence rendering your XP licence invalid and you will not be able to reinstall your copy of XP on another PC, hard drive or partition and activate it. So, yes, you would need a full retail licence for both products to accomplish what you want to do.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    This was just posted in the Vista forum. <post:=629,040>post 629,040</post:> I didn't follow the link or read the article, but it seems to be a solution to your question.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    Where have you gotten your information about a "Academic version of XP " version of Windows?
    The only "Academic version of XP " that I know of are of MS OFFICE XP. If this is what you are talking about, then it is a different issue.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    Dave, online computer stores here in Australia do advertise a discounted academic/education version of XP as an upgrade version only.
    Listed as " Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/SP2 - Version upgrade package - 1 user - EDU - CD."
    However it would not suit my purpose as it does not come with the Vista upgrade guarantee.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    The definitive answer to the Visa upgrade question can be found in the most recent edition of the Windows Secrets Newsletter.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    Can you provide a link to one of the sites, as I would like to read about this product?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    One I use frequently is Harris Technology. http://www.ht.com.au/home.hts
    The specific page: http://www.ht.com.au/N/-130+-362/part/Q045...ware/detail.hts

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licenc

    Interesting that it says:
    <hr>Microsoft Windows XP Professional is the next version of the Windows operating system...<hr>
    - won't you be getting Vista down there? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Replace OEM version of XP Pro with full licence XP (XP Pro SP2)

    On this side of the water most of the "academic/education version" type of software buys, one has NO support from the OEM and are not valid to be used to upgrade to the next version.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •