Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    True Image 10 does not support particular chipset


  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chip

    it means do not use TI 10 if you have a 965 chipset.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chipset

    Howard,

    I of course don't know your intent for posting that reply from Acronis support, but what I do know is that if nothing else it reveals just how far Acronis will go to help a customer. What other vendor can you think of that would go to that length to actually create a personalized ISO file so that they can use their product?

    <hr>Acronis Support wrote:
    . . . attach all the collected files and information to your request and we will investigate the problem and create a special ISO image of the Acronis True Image Bootable CD that works on your particular hardware configuration, if needed.<hr>
    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chip

    So you were just posting to complain, as usual?

    I'd go with a company that provided that level of support. It's rare.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chip

    <hr>I'd go with a company that provided that level of support. It's rare.<hr>
    Ain't that the truth!! But it isn't rare for Acronis to offer that kind of support. When I first bought True Image, back when it was version 6.0, I had one HDD and thus used the "Secure Zone" feature for backup. After awhile I decided I didn't want to store my backup images on the same drive so I tried to remove the Secure Zone. What I ended up with was an empty partition which I didn't know how to "merge" back with the main partition, which True Image should have done. I wrote to Acronis, explained what had happened and they replied with a couple of suggestions to try. None worked..... BUT, they responded again with a link to download a copy of their "Partition Expert" application along with a complimentary "key" and instructions to use the program to resolve the problem. Now, tell me how many companies today would actually give you one of their programs for free with a sincere apology for the problems experienced in order to resolve a "fluke" problem that a customer had??

    <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/Score-101010.gif>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chip

    While I would have appreciated some details in Howard's original post, I think it is a little aggressive to suggest it is a complaint. True Image has worked for me but if there is a problem with a particular chip set surely it is OK to pass the information along?

    Chris (Hunt)

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chip

    If you read the other threads that Howard either starts or participates in, you'll see that it's more a statement of fact and really not that agressive. Acronis' service, from all I've read here and elsewhere, is top notch. For much the sam reason, I always buy memory from Crucial - it's the service. They care about my business and want me to come back, and so long as a vendor treats me with that level of respect, I will patronize them.

    I've never had a need to deal with Acronis' support, but their reputation is the primary reason I use their products.
    -Mark

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: True Image 10 does not support particular chip

    Well I've dealt with Ti support a number of times. Sometimes they are good, sometimes they are not. I guess it depends on who gets the question. My most recent contact has been slow, somewhat clueless and not very good at all. Maybe they're best at simple questions?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •