Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ultimate)

    . . . but it wasn't as smooth as I had hoped. I chose to do an upgrade over my XP installation rather than a clean install. I can't remember the last time I did an upgrade since a clean install has always been my method of choice. So, here's the down and dirty on my experience.

    I prepped the system by doing all that would be expected, take out the trash, uninstall any programs I knew weren't compatible, etc., etc., and finally did a defrag. The upgrade installation went along just fine and when it got to the last section and at 68% complete (2 hours later which was faster than I had expected) I got a BSOD. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/ohno.gif>

    Not all was lost, however, as it rolled back everything and within 45 minutes I was back in XP as if nothing had happened. I then surmised that the problem was one of 2 things: 1) applications with processes running or 2) bad timing for the updates which I was prompted to enable during the install. So, I chose 3 of the apps I felt were suspect and uninstalled them and ran the Vista installation again and chose to by-pass the "Get updates" prompt. I went to bed at 2:00 and got up at 6:00, peeked in the door and there was Vista ready to go.

    I've had to uninstall 3 or 4 apps and re-install them again to get them to work, but otherwise everything is working 100%. Given that this was an upgrade install, I think it went quite well.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    I notice that your 'Windows Experience Index' is 5.2. Question: on a scale of 1 to what? Are you happy with this given the relatively powerful system you seem to have?
    Regards,
    PaulB

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    Paul,

    The "Windows Experience", aka: PC Rating score is the lowest score of all hardware components tested this utility checks. Why Microsoft decided to do it that way I haven't a clue. But the top score you can get is a 5.9 for each of the tests. I've included a screenshot so you can see what the actual components are and my individual scores.. Anything over 3.0 is said to be capable of running Vista Ultimate. The irony is, you have to install Vista to run the test. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/scratchchin.gif>

    Jeff
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    I thought the score may have been 5.2 out of 10, which doesn't seem very good given your computer description. But since it's 5.2 out of 5.9, you must be happy with the result.
    Regards,
    PaulB

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    Understand and improve your computer's performance using the Windows Experience Index

    <hr>WEI scores currently range from 1 to 5.9. Your computer's base score (as you can see in the image) is taken from the lowest of the five sub-scores, because the slowest or least-powerful hardware component must be considered for performance limitations.

    <hr>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    >Understand and improve your computer's performance using the Windows Experience Index
    >>>>> For example, if your computer doesn't have the graphics capability to effectively display the new Windows Aero visual effects, Windows Vista won't enable those effects on your computer.

    (I am not quoting back at you, DaveA), but am amplifying the content of the link)

    This worries me.
    I buy a copy of Vista, install it.
    Vista decides that my hardware isn't good enough for a critical application and shifts into lower gear.
    I go out and buy a new RAM, joystick or whatever.
    Six months later, Vista "decides" that it still isn't enough, or that something else (mouse?) needs replacing.

    Service Pack 1 or 2 could wreak hell.

    I have this feeling that I might be running back and forth in Pavolvian fashion to various computer stores.

    Is Vista so omnipotent that it will decide what's good for me?

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    Methinks you are a bit confused about Vista and hardware compatibility. The "minimum" requirements to run Vista with it's new and most demanding features, e.g., Aero UI, 3D features, etc. are plastered all over the Internet and of course decried. Unless you have a 10 year old boat anchor of a PC or you have a "bargain basement" machine, the chances are very good that what you do have will suffice. I installed Vista RC2 on a new Toshiba laptop for a friend which came with a 1.4 gig CPU, 1 gig RAM and onboard graphics. I had my doubts how Vista would fare on that machine. The "Windows Experience Index" score was only "2.3", yet it ran the "Ultimate" version with Aero GUI and all 3D features quite nicely. The 2 most important items, IMHO are RAM; a minimum of 1 gig and Video; at least 128 megs RAM, Direct 9x support and ideally with WDDM (Windows Display Driver Model) for Vista. Doubtless, 2 gigs RAM is ideal as is a 256 meg video card. I'm assuming of course, that the CPU will be at least 1.x gigs. It isn't so much a matter of not being able to run one of your applications as it is with the ability to take advantage of the advanced features in Vista itself.

    One would be foolish to drop a new 400 hp V8 engine into an older vehicle that was designed to have a 165 hp V-6 and expect everything to work fine. The peripherals just wouldn't handle this kind of motor for long. Take a lesson from Tim the Toolman Taylor of the TV comedy series "Home Improvement" who most always ended up destroying things by trying to "hotrod" everything from lawnmowers to diswashers to toilets. <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    Good show Jeff.
    I have been running Vista on my Sony VAIO PCG-K47 laptop. It has a Pentium 4 CPU 3.20 GHz, 1 GIG of RAM and using a 35 GIG partition as my second boot drive. I still have XP on the C partition.

    NO, I can not get the Aero and the Flip-3d, as it uses the on-board graphics and does NOT have enough graphic RAM.

    It is NOT any slower running Vista as it it running XP Home SP2.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    > Methinks you are a bit confused about Vista and hardware compatibility.
    I don't think so. I'm concerned about MSoft's ability to decide on a day-by-day basis whether or not it will allow something to run after it has been in use for a period.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    "not it will allow something to run after it has been in use for a period."
    It would happen before this, as the hardware would NOT be good enough to run in Aero and 3D-Flip mode.
    Do you know what they are, if not go look them up?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    > It would happen before this
    My point is that even if the configuration passed the test, regardless of the software being used MSoft has retained the right effectively to disable the activity after an upgrade has been installed.

    It is not about the specific hardware, but the warning inherent in the article to which you posted a link.
    I am now beginning to see warnings in trade papers about the impact of Vista, MSoft's Open XML spec, and so on.
    I might be wrong, but the professional writers can't be far off the mark.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    I don't see the word "disable" anywhere in that article, Chris. Where are you getting this idea that MS has taken it upon themselves to shut you down if you don't have the proper hardware? It seems to me the whole tone of the thing is assistance with decision making and evaluation on the part of the consumer, NOT policing by the mother ship.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    Professional writers can and are way off the mark all the time. They have as many axes to grind as anyone. It seems as though I read at least one article a week where I wonder if the writer has any computer background at all much less the depth of knowledge to comment on the subject about which he/she is writing. With Vista Microsoft is providing the ability for the OS to determine if you can use advanced visualization features effectively. They are concerned that you have a good experience. If you indeed upgrade later (and the key being UPGRADE) I do not believe the OS would downgrade your experience. that makes no sense.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    Joe,
    It could not have been said better.

    Maybe Chris needs to join Scot Finnie and get a Mac and leave us Windows users alone. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Up and running with Vista Ultimate (Vista Ulti

    > I don't see the word "disable" anywhere in that article, Chris. Where are you getting this idea that MS has taken it upon themselves to shut you down if you don't have the proper hardware? I

    "For example, if your computer doesn't have the graphics capability to effectively display the new Windows Aero visual effects, Windows Vista won't enable those effects on your computer."

    This was the string that caught my eye.
    If at time-of-installation a decision can be made to inhibit specific features, then the same decision can be made at a later time when updates are being stored.
    This ability and logic has been available for years, certainly during DOS-days. This is the first time I've seen it "in print".

    I agree that there is a large element of assitance in here, and this is especially valuable if a check can be run prior to purchase (or in the case of my argument, prior to agreeing to install a refresher download).
    The looming prospect of "Father knows best, m'dear" is what scares me.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •