Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    on starting a few of my programs I receive a error that says.......C:windowssystem32msvbvm60.dll is corrupted or will not run on vista.........and the program will not start up. these programs have been running fine for several days and then this started happening. I tried reloading the programs and it didn't help anything. I then went and got a clean version of the dll file and when i went into the system 32 folder to replace it it told me i didn't have access and would not let me replace it. I am the administrator of the computer and have uac turned off. I also went and tried to upgrade the permissions to let me do it and it won't let me change the permissions either. does anyone have any ideas that may help??

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    What is the error that you get, including the error number.
    This may help finding out what the issue is.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    VB6 applications (msvbvm60.dll is part of VB6 runtime) need to be run under elevated privileges (right click on the setup exe and select

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    Thank both of you gentlemen for your replies, However i am running as the administrator and instead of an .exe file the dll i am trying to replace is standalone. When i drag it into the system32 folder i get access denied....I go to security and try to elivate my security permissions and i see that the administrator doesn't have the permissions needed to replace a file in the folder, i have uac turned off and go to change the permissions so i can replace it and it won't let me change them. I have tried every way i know to upgrade the permissions and still no luck...remember i am already running as the administrator. I have even tried to extract the dll file directly to the system32 folder from the zip program, and i get the same access denied message.I even purchased Woody's book Windows Vista for dummies, and that doesn't seem to address the issue either, at least for this particular problem. I guess what i am asking is how to elevate permissions of the administrator in general because i know that there will be other instances where I will need to do this at some time in the future.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    This is a NEW OS. Yes you have "Admin" permissions but you do NOT have FULL ADMINSTRATOR permissions. Even with the UAC off you will need to Right Click the shortcut or EXE file and "Run as THE Administrator".

    <img src=/S/ranton.gif border=0 alt=ranton width=66 height=37> I would NOT run with the UAC turned OFF as you are going to find things happening that you do NOT want. <img src=/S/rantoff.gif border=0 alt=rantoff width=66 height=37>
    I am now off my soapbox.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    Oh Sorry, I guess I didn't make it clear.....There is no .exe file it is a .dll file that i downloaded from a dll site. is there a way to make it a .exe file or a program that loads dll's into the system32 folder that i don't know about?? Ok DaveA I will turn UAC back on...ok??lol <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    Your first post begins with "on starting a few of my programs" - these programs have exe files which must to be started with elevated priviledges.

    Answer for your last question: you must take an ownership of the file in system32 folder to delete or replace it:

    - click Start | Run and type CMD
    - on Command Prompt window, type CD
    - then type CD WINDOWSSYSTEM32
    - and then type TAKEOWN /f msvbvm60.dll

    In addition to TAKEOWN, you can use ICACLS command to modify read/write permissions. Be careful using TAKEOWN.EXE - doing so, you are breaking the security concern of ownership.
    You can also use the same method as in Windows XP: How to take ownership of a file or folder in Windows XP

    Have fun!

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    Thank you Kaplinb, however when i do this i get the following error.......TAKEDOWN....is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. and i have no clue what ICACLS is., but thanks anyway...

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Replace a corrupted dll file (vista ultimate)

    Ok guys i got it working now, thanks for the advise about changing security and permissions just like XP.......I followed that proceedure and it allowed me to replace the dll file and now all the programs that use it work....finally. Thank you all again for your advice....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •