Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Startup (SP-2)

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger bfxtrfcmgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Fresno, California, USA
    Posts
    995
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Startup (SP-2)

    Is there a way to connect to my DSL account at startup?
    (yes, I keep forgetting to connect until I try to use IE or OL)
    Bryan,
    Not the smartest critter on the glacier. . .
    . . .but I'm persistent (does that count?)

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    Do you mean open to your home page or some other internet site on startup ???
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    You don't say who your provider is, but the idea of broadband (DSL or cable) is supposed to be "always on." Explain what you mean when you say you have to "connect" please. Maybe it's something between you and your provider... Otherwise, you should be connected 24/7 unless YOU unhook.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger bfxtrfcmgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Fresno, California, USA
    Posts
    995
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    "Otherwise, you should be connected 24/7 unless YOU unhook."

    That's what I thought, but I have to manually go to network connections and dblclk the connection to activate it. I don't usually shut down this machine, which makes it worse because I forget to reconnect and get calls from customers wondering why I haven't replied to their e-mail. As long as I don't reboot the connection stays active.
    Bryan,
    Not the smartest critter on the glacier. . .
    . . .but I'm persistent (does that count?)

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    When you double click the connection doesn't it start a program to connect? If so, you should be able to put a shortcut to the program in your startup folder.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    Wouldn't hurt to check with your provider to see if there's something you can do to keep the connection live. I have cable rather than DSL but I can shutdown all equipment, including the cable modem, but as soon as I apply power to the cable modem, I'm "connected" and no action is required on my part, except to turn on the computer. I looked in my Network Properties and don't see anything pertinent.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger bfxtrfcmgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Fresno, California, USA
    Posts
    995
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    Thanks. . .I tried that.
    Bryan,
    Not the smartest critter on the glacier. . .
    . . .but I'm persistent (does that count?)

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger bfxtrfcmgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Fresno, California, USA
    Posts
    995
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    Well, I can't explain this. I got a msg that the connection had been inactive so it was about to disconnect. There was a check box (something about never asking again) and a button to stay connected. I selected both, rebooted, and the darn thing works just fine - it reconnected on startup! Thanks for the input guys; I don't know why it did all that, but it seems fine now.
    Bryan,
    Not the smartest critter on the glacier. . .
    . . .but I'm persistent (does that count?)

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    Whooee, always glad to see another one bite the dust! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Good thing you happened to "be there" to see the message.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger bfxtrfcmgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Fresno, California, USA
    Posts
    995
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Startup (SP-2)

    Yeah. Wonder how many time it did that behind my back?!
    All's well that ends well (frustration aside). Thanks for your replies Al.
    Bryan,
    Not the smartest critter on the glacier. . .
    . . .but I'm persistent (does that count?)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •