Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    I took delivery of an Acer Aspire notebook for a client that came with Vista Home Premium installed. The wholesaler used my name for the installation so it appears under "C:Users". For obvious reasons I would like to change this name to the name of the client. How can I do that?

    I've changed the "User Account" name to the client's name but my still appears as the "registered owner", assuming that is what the name under "Users" is.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)


  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    Hans,

    Thanks for the link. I had a sneaking suspicion that the resolution might be the same as for XP, which it is according to that article. I had already tried it and it worked before receiving notification of your reply. But it was good to get confirmation nonetheless. I also found out that it didn't change the "C:Usersusername" folder however, so I did a "Find" in the Registry for every instance of my name and change it to the client's name. But even that didn't change that item. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> And when I rebooted, I got an error message saying that the login had a problem and a "Temp" login was created etc.... egad. So, I got the idea to rename the account that I had already renamed and then created a new account with the client's name and then deleted the original account. Upon rebooting, everything was 100%. Of course, I had to redo everything for the new account that I had already done originally. But at least now everything is great. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> So, I learned something new ....... again!

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    You have found out why I will never rename an account again. It is a lot simpler to create a NEW user account than try and clean one up.

    A simpler work around when the "User name" that you want is already in use, make a dummy one, log out and log in using the dummy one. Delete the old account(s) and files (maked sure you moved the needed files) and then make a new one using the wanted name. Once logged in as the new user, delete the dummy account and files.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    Dave,

    Exactly! That's what I ended up doing, albeit I probably didn't relate it that clear. hehe At least I found out that you can change the "RegisteredOwner" and "Organization" in Vista the same way it is done in XP.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    I have a similar problem. When I reinstalled Vista from the DVD provided by Dell ( a clean install after I broke a preconfigured RAID array), I set up my account using my name. User accounts shows the correct name. However, the path to files includes a strange user name, the origin of which is totally mysterious (bensonThanks for the).
    I would like to create a new account with my name, then delete the odd one. Can I use Windows Easy transfer to copy all my files and settings to the new account on the same PC?

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    Copying settings, etc., from an existing Account to a new one in Vista is done the same way it is done in XP. The method below is almost guaranteed to work 100%. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif>

    To summarize the process, you need to create "2" new Accounts; 1) The one you are going to keep/use and 2) One to perform the "copy" from. Both new Accounts must have Administrator privileges, i.e., not Limited Accounts. So, here's how it's done:
    <UL><LI>Create the 2 new Accounts, one with your desired title/name and the other name it something easily recognized, e.g., I always use "Test".
    <LI>Make sure you login to each Account after it is created and let Windows do its thing and then reboot thereafter for each.
    <LI>Login to the "working Account", e.g., "Test"
    <LI>Go to Start/Control Panel and open "System"
    <LI>Click on "Advanced system settings" on the left
    <LI>Click on "User Profies" (button). You should see all 3 Accounts in the list.
    <LI>Click on the "old" Account to highlight it and click on "copy to" (button)
    <LI> At the next screen you will then "Browse" to "C:Users"new name" Account (the one you are going to keep).
    <LI>Just follow the remaining prompts and that should do it for you.
    <LI>Log out of the "Test" (or whatever Account you chose to work from) Account and login to your new "keeper" Account to make sure that everything looks and works correctly.
    <LI>If everything is to your satisfaction, Reboot and then you can then Delete the old Account by either returning to the "Control Panel/System/Advanced system settings/User Profiles" or "Control Panel/User Accounts".
    <LI>Reboot once again and login to the new Account to check that everything in the old, deleted Account has been removed.
    <LI>You can then also delete the "working" (Test) account that you used to perform the copy.
    <LI>DONE[/list]Admittedly, this looks like a lot of work, but actually it is quite simple and it doesn't take long to do at all. If anyone else has a shorter and/or more effective method, perhaps they will share it too. But the method above has worked marvelously for me with no negative effects. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    Jeff, thank you for taking the time to provide such a clearly detailed guide. Greatly appreciated!

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Change 'Users' name in Vista (Vista Home Premium)

    Reporting back: the process worked well. I had to re-register a few programs, re-import favourites and cookies, and set up Windows Mail accounts again. A small inconvenience considering the ease of solving the initial problem.
    Once again, thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •