Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Edited again (must have a bad day) I mean that in Content the Enable settings are greyed-out.
    Edited by me because the error message related to msn run once not to viewtrip

    I have 2 related(?) problems with IE7 7.0.5730.11 (WinXP Home SP2 etc)

    1) In Tools|Internet Options|Content the settings button is greyed-out. I have uninstalled IE7, reverting to IE6 and reinstalled it but to no avail.
    2) When I try to reach the www.viewtrip.com site (for checking flight details for tickets ordered through the Galileo system) I got the attached error message after reinstalling. I haven't a clue what it means nor how to rectify it.

    Remarks: a) In FF 2.0.0.1 I can't get to www.viewtrip.com too! [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] On my other computer with the same version of IE7 and WinXP Prof SP2 I have non of the above problems. I have gone through all the security settings and compared them, they are identical. I use ZA, Win defender, Avast on both computers. I have switched them all off, but it makes no difference.

    Anybody has some ideas about this please?
    TIA, Teunis
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    1) The Contents tab contains two Settings button (see below). Are both disabled, or only 1?

    2) There's nothing you can do about script errors on a website. You can suppress the error messages by clearing the check box "Display a notification about every script error" in the Advanced tab of Tools | Internet Options. You may also want to tick both check boxes for "Disable script debugging".
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: png x.PNG (8.7 KB, 0 views)

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Hans,

    1) It is the Content Advisor Enable|Settings above AutoComplete and Feeds as shown below. The latter two work alright. But when I press "Enable" nothing happens.
    2) Yes I know, I switched it on just to see what went wrong.

    Regards, Teun
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Sorry, I don't know why the Enable button wouldn't work.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    PC Hell: How to Remove Content Advisor Password in Internet Explorer gives you a couple of things to check even though the article is about disabling the advisor.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Teun,

    The content advisor "settings" button is grayed out because, you have never turned ON the Content Advisor. You have to fill in more info than just clicking the enable button to turn it on.

    I have the same situation on my machine, as I have never bothered with this feature.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 15-Feb-07 10:16. )</P>Edit: Never mind, I see you added a note to your post.

    > 2) When I try to reach the www.viewtrip.com site (for checking flight details for tickets ordered through
    > the Galileo system) I got the attached error message after reinstalling. I haven't a clue what it means
    > nor how to rectify it.

    I can't think of any good reason that a presumably secure site for checking on airline tickets would generate an error in an msn.com script (as indicated in the dialog). I suggest connecting to the site directly (by typing the address in the address bar) to reduce the possibility of interference from search engines or other sites. If it persist, I would be suspicious of toolbars and the MSN messenger. (And I'd use Firefox, but that's just me. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15> )

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Thanks,

    I don't know what is going on: I use FF2, I just tried IE7 to see if that one allowed me to connect to viewtrip. Elas both don't, while on my other machine w/o FF2, IE7 has no problem connecting to viewtrip. So that is why I thought that it had to do with the Content| Enable settings, which I resolved (see my other post). But I can still not connect to viewtrip.

    Regards, Teun

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Hans, Bob and Joe,

    Thanks for your info. Bob: the whole problem was just that opening enable did not work! But thanks to the site mentioned by Joe I found the location of the relevant registry entries. By carefully copying the entries from my machine with IE7-no problem to my machine IE7-problem I could solve the Content Advisor Enable|Settings problem. Not that I was really interested. I only thought that solving that error might also solve my error with not being able to connect to www.viewtrip.com, my real interest. Unfortunately that problem still exists both with IE7 and FF2.

    Regards, Teun

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Do you get a time-out trying to load the page or do you get an error from the server?

    In the latter case, it could be a bad cookie or a bad saved username/password in the browser's autocomplete feature. You could try clearing those. In Firefox, one common diagnostic technique is to create a new profile. See: Creating a new Firefox profile on Windows @ MozillaZine Knowledge Base.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Well, I'm glad you got one thing straightened out. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>.

    As for the other, that script appears to be the one that is run the first time IE7 is executed after installation. Usually, it runs, you making any setting changes you want, save them and you never see it again. In IE, try setting you home page to www.msn.com just to see if the script will run.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Jefferson,

    IE7 switches automatically to a Google search where www.viewtrip.com is one of the choices: not much joy.
    With FF2 I get the message below, while it continues to try to load the page. Pressing OK gives the Timed Out message at the bottom.
    I doubt if a new profile would solve things because both IE7 (and BTW IE6 too when I reverted to it) and FF2 behave similar. Nevertheless I seem to remember that a couple of months ago there was no problem.

    Regards, Teun
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Maybe there is an address resolution problem. This can happen if you have an obsolete address in your hosts file, in the operating system cache, in your firewall (if it includes a caching feature), or upstream at your ISP.

    hosts ==> C:WINDOWSsystem32driversetc

    OS cache ==> Start>Run..., cmd <enter> then <code>ipconfig /flushdns</code>

    firewall ==> depends on your product

    ISP ==> Hmmm, good luck with that. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Doorn, Netherlands
    Posts
    311
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Content Settings, etc (IE7)

    Jefferson,

    How grateful I am. It was the host file(s). I deleted them all and I could connect to www.viewtrip.com without a problem in IE7 and FF2. As a further check I reinstalled the file, and yes in IE7 I could not connect, but FF2 was no problem. I know I could have changed/deleted the relevant line only. But I thought better to start from scratch.

    Thanks again,

    Teun

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •