Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Time Change for SP1

    Am I to understand that there will be no help for users that still use Windows XP Home Edition with SP1 like myself? Since support for SP1 has been extended there must be some information out there regarding how we stubborn users can set Daylight Savings Time early. I believe that it can be changed manually, but I'd rather not.

    If someone has the information I'm looking for, please post it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    You are correct: the update is only available for those who have SP2.

    See MSKB article How to configure daylight saving time for the United States in 2007 for how to DIY.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    An alternative to mucking about in the registry if you would prefer, is to set the time manually:

    Control Panel > Date & Time >
    Time Zone Tab >
    And de-select "Automatically adjust..."

    However, if you are using the Internet to automatically adjust the time for you (third tab), I'm not sure what may happen. It may over-ride everything, or on the other hand you may need to change your time zone.

    When DST starts, manually change the time to the correct hour. You can then re-enable automatic DST adjustments when the date coincides with what your PC thinks is the correct DST period. You will have to go through this again when DST ends.

    I think it might be easier to install SP2 <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (11.2 KB, 0 views)

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    Leif,
    >>I think it might be easier to install SP2

    You have to be VERY careful about mentioning "that" subject to Gloria. <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    Thank you Hans for posting back so swiftly. I have downloaded and installed the Tzedit.exe utility package found in Article ID: 914387.

    Just a couple of questions about using the tool.
    Should I execute it now or wait until the night before the time change takes effect?

    Will this tool revert back when Daylight Savings time is ended?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    You can run the Time Zone Editor (tzedit.exe) at any time between now and March 10. You will specify the start *and* end dates for Daylight Saving Time in your time zone (and, if you like, other time zones, but unless you travel with your computer to other time zones, that is not necessary). When you have done this, your computer's clock will automatically switch to DST on March 11, and it will automatically switch back on November 4. So you'll be OK until March 2008.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    I have no intention of mucking around in the registry to change the time. For other things, yes, but for this, absolutely not.
    See my post to Hans, and the tool he pointed me too. If there's an easier way of doing things, that's for me.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    Thank you, I read the article but I didn't see answers to any of my questions. I knew I was coming to the right place for answers.

    I think I'm beginning to weaken in my stand not to use SP2. If I install it and have to use my OEM CD to reinstall Windows that came with SP1, will I be able to?

    I realize that this is off topic, if I need to post my question under a different topic, please feel free to move it where ever you think best.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    The short answer is yes you'll be able to revert if you need to. You will need to do a fresh install just as though you had NO data on the PC. So, you better backup your data before trying anything with SP-2. In fact, I'd recommend that you investigate (search the lounge) for instructions on creating a slipstream SP-2 CD. Then burn all your drivers to a CD. Then after BACKUP I'd install Windows from scratch. Update all your drivers with what you have on CD. Then restore your data last. Again, BE SURE TO BACKUP BEFORE TRYING TO INSTALL.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    Too late, SP2 has been installed from the CD. I know where to come if I have problems.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    Be sure to visit Microsoft Update. You've still got patches to install.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Time Change for SP1

    Way ahead of you this time. I went there and found that there were 10 left from yesterday, I installed them all.
    I thank you for the reminder, in case I had forgotten.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •