Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Possible Bad NIC?

    I've got a friend's computer here at my home and trying to connect it to the internet without success so far. When her DSL connectivity "broke" she ran AdAware and Spybot several times and removed a bunch of stuff that was recommended. It was at that point that her IE said she couldn't connect to the internet. When I brought the computer home and fired it up, it seemed like there was both IE 6 and IE 7 installed and causing conflict. So I un-installed IE and re-installed a fresh copy of IE7 from CD. In order to get around her DSL networking settings, I've changed her settings to DHCP and re-booted a few times in order to connect the machine to my router and let it see the Net through my CABLE connection. But it's not working and I get a message that there is no connection.

    When I run IPCONFIG /ALL it yields one of those 169.someting IP addresses that I think simply confirms that it's not getting an IP address from the DHCP router. If I access the router from my other machine, the DHCP client table doesn't show the machine at all. I don't care about whether her machine can see my LAN, only internet connectivity. Frankly, I'm wondering if her NIC has gone bad and I don't know what to do to check that theory.

    Does anyone have any idea what I'm missing or what to do to check the integrity of the NIC?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    Al,

    The 169. address is issued by Windows if it tries to get a DHCP address and fails. Can you just check on one of your working PCs that IPCONFIG / RELEASE followed by IPCONFIG / RENEW can get an IP Address, as your existing PCs might be working fine even if the DHCP server isn't there.

    If the DHCP server is definitely working, and you have connected the PC to a known good port on your router using a known good cable then it probably is a faulty NIC. You could try testing with a cheap PCI NIC (should cost you $10 or less).

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    Doesn't pinging with 127.0.0.1 show whether the NIC is working or not? Or is that for something else?


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    1) Try a TRACERT to see if it will hop across the NIC.

    2) Perform a ROUTE PRINT and view the IP Settings.

    3) Will your browser work with IP addresses but not with DNS names? If you cannot type in http://www.wopr.com and get it to work but you can type in a known IP address http://71.250.240.251 (wopr.com). If the IP address works but the DNS does not work the re-install WinSocks (the DNS lookup software).

    4) Try resetting the BIOS (Re-boot and tap the F2 Key, Press F9 (Default Settings), Press F10 (Save and Exit)
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    I tried the release and renew from a command window on the faulty computer with no luck. I also came to THIS computer, opened the router's DHCP screen and it only shows this computer. From that same screen, I did a release and renew and it didn't help. I'm 99.9% sure that the router's DHCP function is working for it usually (always) shows my machines just fine. As soon as I finish making posts here, I'll try the release and renew from a command window to see if THIS computer gets a "fresh" IP address from the router. Sometimes that process requires a reboot, so I'm on unfamiliar ground here.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    As I've already admitted I'm on shaky knowledge, I forgot about the localhost test. I'll try that later this afternoon to see what it says. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    I didn't try a tracert or route print, so I guess I should do that too, just to be sure. The reason I didn't was that, after re-installing IE7, I run the browser and type in the URL of 192.168.1.1 which should let me "see" the router's settings screen (after entering ID and password, of course), but it just sits there with an hourglass. I let it sit like that for a pretty long time just to be sure, so I don't know. Frankly, that's what made me think the NIC might have gone dead on her and I don't have a spare to try.

    The two green lights on the NIC are lit, but I also failed to go around and look to see if one is flashing when I was watching the above hourglass. I'll go do that later also.

    I do have the machines XP LAN setting changed from her DSL specified IPs to "automatic." Although I don't think it matters for internet visibility, I did change her workgroup name to mine. Thanks for the suggestions. My afternoon "homework" is laid out... <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    How about doing a network diagnostic. Type in NETSH DIAG GUI in Run.

    This will gather all information about the hardware, software and your network config.

    It will come up with a list of passes and failures...it will be something for you to work on and tell if it is the NIC
    Jerry

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    OK, I'll do that. Ya see, I AM very inadequate about all this network stuff - it's hit and miss with me. Sometimes the misses are greater than the hits, so perseverance counts!

    BTW, I did open a command window on this, my base machine, and do a release and then renew with IPCONFIG. Works like a charm, including the display of my cable provider's DNS nums, so there's no problem with the router (DHCP server) not performing up to spec. The ethernet cable is also good, for it works on another machine.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    Ok <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I am off now but just make sure the Router is configured to allow the IP address of your friends PC. I'll think you will get an answer with the diagnostic though
    Jerry

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    For all who replied trying to help and advise me: I give up on my friend's machine! I think I'm going to tell her on Monday that, in this case, I think Dell was correct and she needs to do a complete restoration, after copying her data (she knows what that is) to one or more CDs. The only one of the advisements from y'all that I was able to complete was a ping of localhost, which responded successfully. Everything else I tried failed because certain "system services" were not running, such as Help and Support, Windows Firewall and on and on. In her MSCONFIG, there are a ton of startup items and Windows Services which are disabled and I can't see any reason for any of this. I was after the Windows firewall because I thought it might be blocking my router from assigning a DHCP IP address.

    This lady, I'm afraid, has a boyfriend (significant other) and one or more teenage kids in her life, who I believe have been "helping" her with her computer and it is now my considered opinion that either one or more of them, or some ton of spyware, has totally wrecked her Windows installation. If I had her Dell restoration CD I would complete the job for her, but she doesn't even have that and is waiting for Dell to send her one by mail. There is an advert by an appliance company that says: "We fix what your husband 'repaired'..." that I think is applicable in this case. Some well-meaning people can screw up more than they help.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Possible Bad NIC?

    Hey Al,

    Just to try something off the wall, pop in one of your LiveCDs, and see if they get internet connection. That would certainly take Windows out of the equation, and tell you if the NIC is infact defective.
    Christopher Baldrey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •