Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: System Tray

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Tray

    After booting this morning I discovered something new in my system tray. It said "View Discovered Devices." When I clicked on it My Network Places appeared and in it was Residential Gateway. When that was opened it said "Device offline. The device you are trying to use is not currently available on your network. Check to see if the device is on the network and try again."

    The strange thing is I've never used nor needed a Network, I know I'm not on one. I was also not trying to use any devices at any time.

    Can anyone explain what's happening and if I should be concerned about the device?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    XP (SP2!) yes?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    If you are on DSL or Cable you are using a mini network of ONE to access the modem.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    Are you on DSL or Cable for your internet connection ?? Are you using a firewall other than the one provided by XP ?? Does the mystery device become "available" when you log on to the internet ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Tray

    Gloria,
    Here are a few things to check.

    1. Go to Control Panel>Addremove>click on add remove windows components on the left side of the screen.
    scroll down to Networking Services, click details. Uncheck "Internet Gateway services" and uPnP user interface. OK out.

    2. Also in Control Panel, click folder options. Under the View tab, Uncheck Auto search for Printers and Computers. OK out.

    3. Control Panel>Administration Tools>services, Find SSDP Discovery Service. Right click and click properties.
    Middle of the screen, see start up type drop down menu. Select "disabled" OK out.

    Reboot.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    Correct.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    My ISP is Comcast High Speed Internet. I had no idea that this put me on a network, how about that? Shows how computer literate I am.

    What do I do about the message that it's offline? It's always on 24x7. That message is either untrue or misleading.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    I'm using a cable all ways on connection. Yes, I'm running PC-cillin Internet Security 2006, disabled the one that was provided by XP.
    I only saw the message one time so far and that was on boot. Using the Internet does not start the message, I will have to see if it appears the next time I reboot.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    In Control Panel, Internet Gateway services wasn't checked but uPnP user interface was, so I unchecked it.

    Auto search for Printers and Computers was not checked under the View tab.

    I disabled SSDp Discovery Service,it was on Automatic. Should I also stop the service, right now it's showing Running. When I tried to stop it I got a message that Universal Pug & Play Device Host would also be stopped, so I backed out without stopping the service.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Tray

    You can stop it right away if you wish but it will not start again when you reboot, if you have it set to disable.

    You can go to Steve Gibson's site for a lot of security checks, like a test to see if you have any open ports and a easy disable of uPnP. Just run it from the site.

    UPnP

    GIBSON RESEARCH
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Tray

    I'll just leave it the way it is. Thanks for all your help and I will let the board know it the message appears again after I reboot, which I will do in a few.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •