Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    Does anyone have any references to potential problems if I develop using Access 2002 and then deploy to systems using Access 2000.

    TIA
    Donald

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    Microsoft says you can do this, provided (of course) that you don't use any new Access2002 commands. Just make sure you are using Access2000 compatibility setting (the defaut).
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    I hate to dredge up old subjects, but I just had a failure trying to do this - I developed a small mdb in 2002 and then tried to move it to PCs that were running 2000. Everything worked fine unless you tried to preview a report, in which case Access took a GPF and went away. (Happened on three different workstations all running different OSs.) So I imported everything into a blank database created in 2000 and the problem went away. Not only that but the new database was about 75% of the size of the 2002 version (it was compacted, repaired, decompiled, etc.) I should add that I have not yet installed SP1 of Office XP. I should note however that the fix list for it only admits to fixing one Access problem - unfortunately not the one that has been covered with the dual installs of 2000 and 2002.

    Has anyone had experience with the service pack yet?
    Wendell

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Fredensborg, Denmark
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    Wendell,

    You may have a look at Woody's Office Watch Vol. 7 no. 3 and no. 4 if you haven't already been there.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    Been a subscriber since Volume 1 when Woody lived up the hill from Denver. But I went back and reread no 3 and there isn't any significant details regarding Access. There are some in no. 4, but the bottom line is that there doesn't seem to be much info about what they fixed in Access. The SP1 info notes one fix of some strange behavior in the Turkish version, and the knowledge base gives you 8 entries when you search for SP1 under Access 2002.

    Based on my experience, there seem to be a number of compatibility problems with Access 2000 and 2002 - we saw a number of problems with mail merges, and the documented problem with dual installs. This latest problem really makes me gunshy.
    Wendell

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    Hmm - we seem to be retrogressing!

    I like 2002 because it virtually eliminated the corruption problem (2002 just crashes, but it saves a backup copy, and tries to inform MS that "there was a problem").

    Your recommended gunshyness practice = dev in 2002, distribute in 2000?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    Which corruption problem? I keep seeing people talk about it in general terms, but I'm never sure what they're talking about, data or interface.

    The only corruption problem I've seen in Access 2k (aside from that caused by installing AXP on the same machine <img src=/S/meltdown.gif border=0 alt=meltdown width=15 height=15>) has been in objects, and I've seen darn little of that, certainly no more than in A97. In both versions, the object/code corruption tends to occur where a bunch of changes are being made to the design. That is NOT new to 2000.
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    You mean there'smore than 1 corruption problem?

    A few months back, I was beating on A2k's forms and code. I'd get to a point at which i would do "just one more edit" and then watch myself <img src=/S/toilet.gif border=0 alt=toilet width=24 height=26> and some of the tables got corrupted from these disasters.

    So far, with 2002, that hasnt happened.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Moving to Access2002 (A2k and A2K+2)

    I have never seen data get corrupted like that, not in any version of Access, including 1.0. That doesn't mean I don't believe you, it just means that I have never experienced that problem. I certainly have seen forms and code get corrupted like that, but not data. The code corruption seemed to occur somewhat more often in A2k than in A97, but the worst code corruption I've seen in A2k came after I had installed AXP on the same machine courtesy of the newly installed version 6.3 of the VBA dll.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •