Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0.9)

    My outbout mail can't be sent. The msg. states " the msg. could not be sent because connecting to SMTP sever 'smtp. comcast.net failed. Server may be unavailable or is refusing SMTP connections. Please verify that your SMTP server setting is correct and try again."

    If someone who is using Thunderbird could please explain how the account settings should look. I copied most of the info. from my OE settings. If needed I can submit what I have entered to check for correctness.

    Thank you in advance.
    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    All POP mail clients should use the same server name / authentication method / port settings. Check the "Advanced" tab in OE if necessary to get all the details.

    I don't know whether the space in the server name in your message is just a Lounge glitch or is really there. Definitely there should not be any spaces in a server name.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    I did check OE setting against those in Thunderbird, but I will check again to be sure.

    The server name appears as: smtp.comcast.net with no spaces.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    I checked all my settings against the ones in OE, went back and make sure everything was set correctly in Thunderbird. It still failed with the same reasons. I'm ready to give up and just use OE and IncrediMail. If I remember correctly, I took Thunderbird off my computer years ago for the same reason. I could not send mail using it. So, forget about it, I'm deleting it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    Gloria - In my outgoing mail server's box, I have it as smtp-server.woh.rr.com (my ISPs information)

    So maybe instead of a "dot" after the smtp, it should perhaps be a "dash"and the word "server" and would look like this? - smtp-server.comcast.net Since I am unfamiliar with comcast's services, I am going going by how my setup looks. Perhaps comcast has an information page to help with the details of a mail client's setup?


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    I'll try the dash, but coping the settings exactly the way OE has them, there is a dot not a dash. It can't hurt to try the dash.

    Comcast tech support is free, I wonder if they will help me setup my mail using Thunderbird? The only thing with that is they use foreign help and I can't understand most of them. I generally have to hang up, call back and repeat, until I get an English speaking tech. I'll search the web first to see if they have a document that I can use.

    Thanks for the tips which I will try before I delete the email client.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    I don't think the "dash" is correct.

    Here's some links to read. I don't know whether the one about port 587 is pertinent or not, since I don't have Comcast:

    HELP - FAQ - Comcast.net
    HELP - FAQ - Comcast.net
    HELP - FAQ - Comcast.net

    (The name looks the same, but they're different links!)

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    Hi Gloria

    After doing a bit more searching, I agree with Al, the dash is not correct in your situation! Also, the links Al provides are the sites that I was looking at. I am not much help so I am signing off..........back to my <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    Thanks for trying, my good friend. Most of the links are for setting up Comcast Mail. It seems that I now have 3 ways to send and receive mail, Outlook Express, IncrediMail and Comcast Mail. I really don't think I need Firefox (do you)? I had forgotten about Comcast Mail.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    Three mail programs are probably enough for most folks! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> You could always set up a gmail account, a hotmail account and a yahoo account to add more places for mail to be sent and received! <just teasing> Actually, I have 5 different places where I can receive email so I shouldn't talk! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Have a great evening and another <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    Be careful! There is no such thing as "Comcast mail!" They're telling you how to setup YOUR email software via their email SERVERS! Your email can be a choice of many email "client" PROGRAMS, including Thunderbird (not Firefox). Please check the third link about that port 587 thing and I'll tell you why it's worth a shot. It will only take you a few minutes to try it out.

    My son and I both use the same cable ISP and both of us use Thunderbird as our email software. His has been working fine for two years and all of a sudden he couldn't SEND email. Trying to help him, I called our provider and it was suggested that we try some other port than the default port 25. It wasn't port 587, but when we made the change, he WAS able to once again send email. Unfortunately, the support guy couldn't tell me WHY this suddenly happened.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    What a find!! Link 1 was for setting up Comcast Mail.
    Link 2 and 3 were right on the mark, as were a couple of the side bar links. I will read and re-configure Thunderbird.

    Thank you.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    I couldn't understand port 587, but I see that Comcast encourages users to block port 25 outbound to reduce spambot activity: http://www.comcast.net/help/faq/index.jsp?...curitySpam18435. Good idea!

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    When I get Thunderbird working properly, I will have 4, you will beat me by 1. I must stop and gather my thoughts, why do I want to set Thunderbird up??? I can't think of an acceptable reason, so after having you guys going through all that trouble, I'll probably remove the newest e-mail client. Guess which one!!!!!
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Thunderbird Server Settings (Thunderbird 1.5.0

    Al
    "Be careful! There is no such thing as "Comcast mail!"
    Maybe its a matter of definition, but Comcast does offer e-mail service. It is a webmail facility that can also handle POP3 transactions from your favorite e-mail client. I typically use it both ways depending on where I am and what I am doing. Using one e-mail client I download and leave the mail on the Comcast server. On another machine I download and delete. Some times an e-mail gets hung up on the server and will not correctly download. If that happens I can get to the mail via webmail and deal with the problem mail.
    Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •