Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Request for network password (IE 5.5 WinNT 4.0)

    We have an Intranet website on our network. A couple users are getting a request for network password when trying to open Office documents in main frame of the page. This request for PW seems to take domain-admin PW, but not the usersID/PW. If they cancel the request they are free to view the document. I've checked permissions on everything I could think of, created new profiles, etc.. If I logon, using this usersID/PW (he has roaming profile), on another computer - no problem. I am running low on things to try...any ideas?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Request for network password (IE 5.5 WinNT 4.0)

    Well, only a few troubleshooting steps..

    Do they get the same message if they physically navigate to the file in question and attempt to open it?

    Does the file in question contain macros of any kind? Is there a permission for this?

    Does the file spawn an I.E. Viewer for the file type? or is it calling it to the program?

    Thnx
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Request for network password (IE 5.5 WinNT 4.0)

    The only way they can navigate to these files is to map that drive and that takes admin priviliges. I did try that and they could double click and open in Word or use IE file/open/browse to the files and open using IE Word viewer.
    I don't see any sign of a macro and the permissions for all the folders and files include domain users. All the users have at least that permission.
    By clicking on the hover button hyperlink in left frame, IE spawns a viewer for the files.
    Typically, after clicking the link, you see "downloading Http://website/folder/file.doc" in the bottom status bar, but after a delay the request for network PW appears, when cancelled the file opens normally.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Request for network password (IE 5.5 WinNT 4.0)

    I find viewers bulky and unreliable, you might consider removing the viewers and having them download/view the file from the local program instead. I'm not quite sure how you'll need to go about this, but when I was looking to remove the viewers for my browser, I upgraded to 5.5SP1 and that solved the problem.

    Hope this helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Request for network password (IE 5.5 WinNT 4.0)

    I blew up our intranet playing with this, but...for what it's worth.

    You might have restrictions set on the document folder in the IIS management console. One of the things that can be set on folder by folder is whether to allow anonymous logon or require NT credentials.

    Another thought: these documents might attempt to load templates from another drive? Hmmm...

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Request for network password (IE 5.5 WinNT 4.0)

    I finally figured this one out. Most of users run Office 97, but a few use Office 2k. I found out that all the machines with this problem were running Office 2k, but some with Office 2k had no problems. Turns out the ones with the problem did not have SR 1 loaded. After I loaded it no problem.
    Thanks for all the help, the ideas of things to try really help get the brain out of park.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •