Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Virtual Machine Followup

    I thought I'd start another thread on the topic of MS's Virtual PC 2007 to see who's climbing on the bandwagon. As I reported in Joe's earlier thread ( <post:=633,288>post 633,288</post:> ) I successfully installed the product, but ran into a glitch with my first use. I was planning to setup a Win98SE virtual machine, just in case I need to deal with those questions. Well, since all my current hard drives are all of the NTFS persuasion, my virtual machine installation failed with the message that I would have to setup a "DOS" partition. I will probably try tomorrow to setup a FAT32 partition to see if I can get Win98SE installed.

    I've also heard (offline) from another Lounger who has "discovered" that VPC 2007 doesn't want to deal with USB connected printers. Any other "war stories" anyone has to report?

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    <hr>I've also heard (offline) from another Lounger who has "discovered" that VPC 2007 doesn't want to deal with USB connected printers.<hr>
    That "other Lounger" is moi! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Yes it's true. There is no support for printers which connect via "USB only" according to Virtual Machine 2007's messages and Help file. I was able to install Win XP without a problem once I figured out how to do it... DON'T ASK! <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> And most everything was functional from the get-go, e.g., getting online, accessing "shared" files/folders, etc. But my Epson Photo R200 was not recognized. However, you can use a Network Shared printer. I had to manually add the printer because the auto discover function couldn't see it.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    So much for "DOS" partitions! I made about 50 gig of space available on my second drive and created a FAT32 partition on it. I created a new virtual machine, storing its "hard drive" file on that FAT32 partition. However, when I try to run the Win98SE setup CD, I still get the message that I no-can-do! Must setup a DOS partition...

    Duh, I think this means that because my installed VPC 2007 is running under NTFS that I'm not gonna be able to setup a Win98 virtual machine. I guess it's time for me to start Googling for help or forum sites.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    You have two Virtuals running....talk about memory intensive <img src=/S/hiding.gif border=0 alt=hiding width=70 height=24>.

    So let me get this right. You had a VPC created using 2004 and you have copied the file across and created a "new machine using an existing file" and it works, yes? Sorry I am just getting confused.
    Jerry

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    Has anyone installed Virtual PC 2007 on a XP Home version of OS?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    Nope, I'm out of that one...only XP professional
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    Yep, that's what I did. The file is called win98se.vhd and I copied it to this machine. When I started the "new machine" process and gave it a name of win98se, VPC2007 complained and said that name already exists. So, I called it "crapper" and when it came time in the setup to point it to an existing hard drive file, I pointed it to win98se.vhd and the setup completed OK. After it was up and running, I went into the Settings screen and change the machine name from "crapper" to "win98SE" which you can see in the screenshot above. Good luck with yours!

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    Thanks, I shall try that
    Jerry

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    This is almost as much "fun" as installing a new operating system, eh Jeff? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> One of the problems is that there are so MANY hits when you Google on either the 2004 and/or 2007 product, it's hard to research them all!

    In Joe's initial thread, Jezza said that he has a problem with some of his VPC 2004 "machines" in <post#=633,327>post 633,327</post#> and <post#=633,331>post 633,331</post#>. I kept on looking and came across this link: Virtual PC 2007 Release Notes which clearly says that Win98SE is supported. There are instructions in the page that gave me the hint to try the following.

    I simply copied the .VHD file for Win98SE from my other machine to this one and tried to run it. I got a little complaining from VPC 2007 that the name already exists, so I had to create a "new" machine using that .VHD file and my Win98SE is up and running. I don't think it's been converted to complete 2007 form for the closing choices are different. In the 2004 product there were more choices for saving the "state" and in the 2007 there is only save or shutdown. I have run and installed the Virtual Machine Additions on both VMs so far.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virtual Machine Followup

    <hr>DaveA asked:
    Has anyone installed Virtual PC 2007 on a XP Home version of OS?<hr>
    <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> I installed it on Vista Ultimate and it worked fine, however.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •