Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Rutland, Vermont, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    What is with this Activation thing with Microsoft that checks out my hardware config and then disables Vista is there are any changes to it (USB HDD, DVD, etc.)? Also, what happened to the graphical interface for defrag?
    Thanks,
    Wally

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge!

    Recent versions of Windows and Office contain code that is intended to prevent you from installing it on more PC's than the license allows. A hardware check is part of this. There shouldn't be any problem if you replace your video card or similar, but if you replace too many parts at once, the code will think it's a different PC.
    Also see You may be prompted to activate Windows Vista on a computer on which Windows Vista activation was not previously required.

    See The Filing Cabinet : Disk Defragmenter FAQ about the changes to defrag.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Rutland, Vermont, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Thanks Hans - just what I was looking for. This does seem a bit over the top for IT Staff though. We are forever changing configs on PC's to accomodate users. Is MS looking at discontinuing this 'big brother' stuff any time soon?

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Unfortunately, no. Which is why I am still on Windows and Office 2K. I do not trust Microsoft programmers to decide when and if I can have access to my computer and data.
    Legare Coleman

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Microsoft's "Windows Genuine Advantage" (aka: validation) has been a hot topic since the day it was released. However, most do not find it intrusive, in fact, after it is installed, one will rarely if ever have any dealings with it whatsoever. Secondly, there are myriad popular myths concerning WGA, e.g., it calls home and thus invades one's personal privacy; a nebulous and dubious concept, IMHO. No personal information is ever sent to Microsoft via WGA. And lastly, I have had occasions where I have had to replace a HDD, motherboard or other components which exceeded WGA's "score" (the validation process has a list of core components each of which have a number assigned to it, e.g., a motherboard may have a "3", where a HDD has a "1", etc. I can't remember the exact number, but when that number is exceeded, re-validation is required.) Also, I believe that any changes one makes to the system hardware is reset after 3 months back to "0".

    In my own experience, when a system's hardware has changes made to it which exceed the allowable "score" and validation is required, a quick and free phone call to Microsoft was all that was required. All I had to do was briefly explain the situation, e.g., the power supply faulted which also took out the motherboard, etc., and thus it was necessary to replace these parts. I have never been questioned as to the verity of my explanation and within a few minutes, I was issued a new validation number. The entire process was painless and actually more than amiable.

    Thus, I have no complaints about Windows Advantage and the validation process. To me it is no different than my having to put a padlock on my workshop because there are known thieves in the neighborhood. The inconvenience of having to reach into my pocket to retrieve a key and open the lock pales in comparison to having my valuable property stolen. Microsoft has chosen to include an electronic lock on their property and for that I have no objections.

    That's my <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/my2cents.gif>

    Re: defrag.... I use Raxco's "PerfectDisk 8.54" which provides far superior defragging and a full GUI. It is 100% compatible with Vista.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    I have just added 1 GIG of RAM and a 300 GIG internal hard drive at the same time to my desktop and had NO requirement to re-activate. On all of the machines I have upgrade for others, I have had to only do a re-activation only once, and had no problems in doing it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Rutland, Vermont, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Jeff thanks for your note. I disagree with you though. I understand MS not wanting pirated copies out there anywhere but the onus should be on them and not us as legit users. I spent good money on my hardware and my companie's hardware. How I configure it and use it should be, and is, my business, not Microsoft's. I also spent (overspent) good money on their operating system and know about the EULA.
    I also installed extra memory and a USB HDD (for archive purposes), utilized the system for 2 days without an issue. The next time I booted up the PC would not perform. That's when I found out about the WGA stuff. I removed the external HDD and all of sudden no more WGA. That's messed up. And no it was not an issue with the HDD that was the problem.
    By the way I have never had a simple short call to Microsoft, not in 20 years of computing.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Especially since the Registration/Activation Wizard does absolutely nothing to prevent piracy by those that are going to pirate. Ways to break the code is always posted on the WEB before a new version of Windows goes on sale. About all it does is inconvenience MS's honest customers.
    Legare Coleman

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    Well, I see basically two options with this type of rejection of WGA:

    1) Send in suggestions to Microsoft on how they might better protect their products from Piracy which doesn't "inconvenience" honest consumers.

    2) Get Microsoft to abandon the WGA and thus pay the resulting increase in product pricing which is how most retailers handle shoplifting, theft, etc. in order to cover their losses.

    Personally, as I've stated here already and many other places online, I do not find WGA invasive, inconvenient, troublesome, et al. It may not be the best way to accomplish what it is intended to do, but I do respect Microsoft's right to implement it. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: Vista Issue (Business Edition)

    If you have Volume licences, then I believe you can effectively set up your own in-house activation servers, using something called KMS. See this page for example.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •